Author Topic: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition  (Read 163208 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wotmaniac

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2207
  • Emperor's Enforcer
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #920 on: October 26, 2010, 11:52:36 PM »
Q 265:I can make a tumble check to reduce fall damage by 1d6. I can make a jump check to reduce fall damage by 1d6 (so long as it's voluntary). Can I do both to reduce damage when jumping down by 2d6?
Yes. You can also pass each check by 10 to take another 1d6 off each time. There's no upper limit on it, but just use Feather Fall.

For the tumble check, it's 15 points per d6.  Where are the rules for a higher jump check reducing the damage by more than 1d6? 
aside from the Roofwalker feat (RoD), there is none.  

besides, if you think about it from a methodological perspective, landing from a height really is more a function of tumbling than it is jumping.

Quote
Please note: I'm not asking about reducing fall damage, I'm asking if the reduction from a jump check stacks with the reduction from a tumble check.
yes. (at least, there is nothing that implies otherwise -- nor should there be)

[spoiler]
If you stop ignoring 289 pages telling what the intent is to stretch "more power" in your own god complexion of your interpretation trumps all to cover ability adjustments from aging then I will ignore a quarter page of rules that exist within a sidebar.
I think in this case the grammar is less important than whether the Str and Dex bonus provided to your created undead scales.

Greenbound Summoning RAI
Expanded Gestalt
More Savage Progressions[/spoiler]
Report any wrongs I have done here.

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #921 on: October 27, 2010, 12:31:17 AM »
Yes, they stack. 
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

Widow

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #922 on: October 27, 2010, 12:52:56 AM »
Q266 : Polymorph changes your type and subtype, does this disqualify you from race specific PrC's (not type).  For instance the shadowcraft mage requires gnome, chameleon requires human, bladesinger requires elf, etc.  A template would not because it does not change your race, but polymorph temporarily changes your race as well.

Sinfire Titan

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5697
  • You've got one round to give a rat's ass.
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #923 on: October 27, 2010, 01:07:05 AM »
Q266 : Polymorph changes your type and subtype, does this disqualify you from race specific PrC's (not type).  For instance the shadowcraft mage requires gnome, chameleon requires human, bladesinger requires elf, etc.  A template would not because it does not change your race, but polymorph temporarily changes your race as well.

A266: IIRC, you temporarily gain the Augmented Humanoid (Insert Race Here) subtype while polymorphed under the current errata. This prevents you from disqualifying yourself from feats and other set-in-stone choices.


[spoiler][/spoiler]

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #924 on: October 27, 2010, 01:13:54 AM »
Q266 : Polymorph changes your type and subtype, does this disqualify you from race specific PrC's (not type).  For instance the shadowcraft mage requires gnome, chameleon requires human, bladesinger requires elf, etc.  A template would not because it does not change your race, but polymorph temporarily changes your race as well.
Losing access to prereqs like this can get silly. Such as losing "Ability to Cast 2nd Level Spells" in an AMF.

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #925 on: October 27, 2010, 01:17:21 AM »
You can still cast them.  They just don't do shit.

Now, if you're out of slots, on the other hand...
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #926 on: October 27, 2010, 01:22:43 AM »
Q267: You may use both a free action and swift action in the same round, yes? I forget.
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #927 on: October 27, 2010, 01:24:20 AM »
Q267: You may use both a free action and swift action in the same round, yes? I forget.
yes. free actions are nothing.

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #928 on: October 27, 2010, 01:26:57 AM »
Q268: Where can I find the latest polymorph errata? When I try to google it the links on the Wizards webpage brings me to the errata for books, and I can't find a Polymorph errata in any of them.
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

Widow

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #929 on: October 27, 2010, 01:30:01 AM »
Q266 : Polymorph changes your type and subtype, does this disqualify you from race specific PrC's (not type).  For instance the shadowcraft mage requires gnome, chameleon requires human, bladesinger requires elf, etc.  A template would not because it does not change your race, but polymorph temporarily changes your race as well.

A266: IIRC, you temporarily gain the Augmented Humanoid (Insert Race Here) subtype while polymorphed under the current errata. This prevents you from disqualifying yourself from feats and other set-in-stone choices.

Nice.  I hoped that was not another case like the PrC's that disqualify themselves once they complete it and change their qualifying type to something else.

Widow

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #930 on: October 27, 2010, 01:54:53 AM »
Q268: Where can I find the latest polymorph errata? When I try to google it the links on the Wizards webpage brings me to the errata for books, and I can't find a Polymorph errata in any of them.

A268 The rules compendium has the polymorph subschool's most current rules on page 122.  They seem identical to those found in Player's Handbook II.  I have not found the augmented subtype part yet besides this in the SRD:

Quote

This seems to just grant the augmented type, not race like dwarf or elf.  Humans might be in luck at least since there is a human subtype (not refering to the humanoid subtype).  Working on a trick, might be out of luck.

Also I did not see anything in the FAQ.

cru

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 613
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #931 on: October 27, 2010, 01:55:42 AM »
Q268: Where can I find the latest polymorph errata? When I try to google it the links on the Wizards webpage brings me to the errata for books, and I can't find a Polymorph errata in any of them.
Use this: http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?topic=3479.0
Not exactly wizards.com approved but certainly easier to understand.

JaronK

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #932 on: October 27, 2010, 02:37:31 AM »
Q267: You may use both a free action and swift action in the same round, yes? I forget.

A267:  Yes, but note that Quickened Spells have been errataed to be Swift Actions.

JaronK

Stalos

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #933 on: October 27, 2010, 10:48:33 AM »
Q269: Does the Shadow jump ability, gained from shadowdancer or telflammar shadowlord, carry all the normal drawbacks of the dimension door spell like (like the stopping of all actions after the spell), or are there special rules for the shadow jump ability?

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #934 on: October 27, 2010, 10:54:53 AM »
Q268: Where can I find the latest polymorph errata? When I try to google it the links on the Wizards webpage brings me to the errata for books, and I can't find a Polymorph errata in any of them.

A268 The rules compendium has the polymorph subschool's most current rules on page 122.  They seem identical to those found in Player's Handbook II.  I have not found the augmented subtype part yet besides this in the SRD:

Quote

This seems to just grant the augmented type, not race like dwarf or elf.  Humans might be in luck at least since there is a human subtype (not refering to the humanoid subtype).  Working on a trick, might be out of luck.

Also I did not see anything in the FAQ.
The Polymorph subschool stuff doesn't affect the original Alter Self, Polymorph, and other spells based on them at all. This is stated in the sidebar called "Spells that came before" in the section of the Polymorph subschool writeup. Basically, WotC thought the original Polymorph line of spells was too overpowered to even bother fixing. So they made up different spells, and suggested that you use those instead of the originals.

To figure out how Alter Self, Polymorph, and the other original spells were supposed to work, you have to dig back into the Errata before the Polymorph subschool stuff. Basically, you don't gain/lose hit points despite changes to Con, and everything else is pretty much as written in the spell descriptions in the SRD.
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #935 on: October 27, 2010, 10:59:45 AM »
Q269: Does the Shadow jump ability, gained from shadowdancer or telflammar shadowlord, carry all the normal drawbacks of the dimension door spell like (like the stopping of all actions after the spell), or are there special rules for the shadow jump ability?
Shadowlord gets special abilities when they shadowjump that allows them to break that rule in specific ways. Shadowdancer is SoL, though,  unless they also take a dip into Telflammar shadowlord or Crinti Marauder.
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

TC X0 Lt 0X

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #936 on: October 27, 2010, 07:29:10 PM »
Q270
Where can I find a number for how many spells of each level are printed in official 3.5/3.x supplements, if any? It is somewhat important sense I am having several thousand Wizard Followers scribing there spells into Blessed Books of Boccob.
"Never beg, you earn, by winning,
or else you won't get anything..."

Amechra

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2328
  • Thread Necromancy a Specialty
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #937 on: October 27, 2010, 07:31:51 PM »
Q271: Could you use the Humanoid Form invocation as part of the qualication for Master Transmogriphist?
[spoiler]Fighter: "I can kill a guy in one turn."
Cleric: "I can kill a guy in half a turn."
Wizard: "I can kill a guy before my turn."
Bard: "I can get three idiots to kill guys for me."

On a strange note, would anyone be put out if we had a post about people or events we can spare a thought for, or if its within their creed, a prayer for? Just a random thought, but ... hells I wouldn't have known about either Archangels daughter or Saeomons niece if I didn't happen to be on these threads.
Sounds fine to me.
probably over on "Off-topic".
might want to put a little disclaimer in the first post.

This is the Min/Max board. We should be able to figure out a way to optimize the POWER OF PRAYER(TM) that doesn't involve "Pazuzu, Pazuzu, Pazuzu".
[/spoiler]

My final project for my film independent study course. It could do with a watching and critiquing

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #938 on: October 27, 2010, 07:55:32 PM »
Q270
Where can I find a number for how many spells of each level are printed in official 3.5/3.x supplements, if any? It is somewhat important sense I am having several thousand Wizard Followers scribing there spells into Blessed Books of Boccob.
Copy and paste a search from Imarvintpa into excel and count the row numbers?
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

lianightdemon

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #939 on: October 27, 2010, 08:39:30 PM »
Q272

If your a high level character and you commonly polymorph into anouther creature to take advantage of their higher ability scores. Do you apply your HD, inherent, enhancement bonus's to your new racial base? So if your normally an elf with a 14 Dex and you put your 5 HD ability scores into Dex and bought and read and tome of Dex +5 and have gloves of dex +6, when you polymorph into a pixie would you have an 18 dexterity or 34 ?