Author Topic: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition  (Read 163234 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Toptomcat

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #580 on: October 18, 2010, 02:10:52 AM »
Q 172 It doesn't say you can't, but can you take Improved Initiative multiple times, and does it stack? I'm reading a few templates that each give the feat with it, but it doesn't state that you can switch it out for another feat. Just wondering if it was possible for a creature to have that feat 2-3 times for +8 to +12 to their initiative.
Sadly, no. If a feat doesn't say you can take it twice, you can't.

X-Codes

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #581 on: October 18, 2010, 02:11:53 AM »
Q 172 It doesn't say you can't, but can you take Improved Initiative multiple times, and does it stack? I'm reading a few templates that each give the feat with it, but it doesn't state that you can switch it out for another feat. Just wondering if it was possible for a creature to have that feat 2-3 times for +8 to +12 to their initiative.
You cannot take it multiple times, it does not stack, if you have it and gain it again by means of a template then the one gained with the template overlaps, you cannot choose a different feat to gain instead.  Use DCFS or Retraining to ditch the old Improved Initiative before gaining the new one.

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #582 on: October 18, 2010, 02:13:03 AM »
Fair enough. So in the case of a creature taking the vampire template and monster of legend template, you'd have to retrain it to something else. Fair enough.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

Sinfire Titan

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5697
  • You've got one round to give a rat's ass.
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #583 on: October 18, 2010, 03:10:57 AM »
Q173:How many power points does a Neothelid have?

A173: 2 from Wild Talent. It has no need for any more than that due to PLAs not requiring them.

Edit: So Power Leeching it will render half of its feats worthless for 24 hours (can't get Psionic Focus unless you have 1pp).
« Last Edit: October 18, 2010, 03:12:32 AM by Sinfire Titan »


[spoiler][/spoiler]

Emy

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 489
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #584 on: October 18, 2010, 03:36:27 AM »
Q174: Is it explicitly stated anywhere that a damaging area effect (such as fireball) roll once for damage and use that result against everything within its area? (Or is the opposite explicitly stated anywhere?)

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #585 on: October 18, 2010, 11:37:42 AM »
Fair enough. So in the case of a creature taking the vampire template and monster of legend template, you'd have to retrain it to something else. Fair enough.
PsyRef or DCFS, actually. Can't retrain bonus feats, unless there are multiple options, and then the retrained feat has to be a legal choice at that point (like a monk's bonus feats).
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

Vistella

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #586 on: October 18, 2010, 12:58:05 PM »
Q175
When a spirit shaman enters its spirit form and thus becomes incorporeal, can it still attack corporeal creates normaly considering the ghost warrior ability makes all weapons ghost touch?
and if yes, is that a touch attack then too?

Emo_Duck

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #587 on: October 18, 2010, 02:00:43 PM »
Q176: This is mostly a request for confirmation. A caster/manifester that casts antimagic field/null psionics field is himself subject to the effects the field, correct? So any buffs or magic items on him would cease to function.

GawainBS

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1474
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #588 on: October 18, 2010, 02:05:09 PM »
A 176: Correct.

Havok4

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2144
  • It can only be attributable to human error.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #589 on: October 18, 2010, 03:38:42 PM »
Q175
When a spirit shaman enters its spirit form and thus becomes incorporeal, can it still attack corporeal creates normally considering the ghost warrior ability makes all weapons ghost touch?
and if yes, is that a touch attack then too?

A175: I believe so, the wording is a bit confusing though.

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #590 on: October 18, 2010, 03:41:00 PM »
Fair enough. So in the case of a creature taking the vampire template and monster of legend template, you'd have to retrain it to something else. Fair enough.
You don't have to, but it would be the optimal thing to do, if it is allowed. :D
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #591 on: October 18, 2010, 04:24:04 PM »
Fair enough. So in the case of a creature taking the vampire template and monster of legend template, you'd have to retrain it to something else. Fair enough.
You don't have to, but it would be the optimal thing to do, if it is allowed. :D
If the creature is epic, could you just substitute it for its Epic version, Superior Initiative?
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

Rebel7284

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1585
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #592 on: October 18, 2010, 04:37:02 PM »
Fair enough. So in the case of a creature taking the vampire template and monster of legend template, you'd have to retrain it to something else. Fair enough.
You don't have to, but it would be the optimal thing to do, if it is allowed. :D
If the creature is epic, could you just substitute it for its Epic version, Superior Initiative?

No, but that would be a reasonable houserule.
Negative level on a chicken would make it a wight the next day.  Chicken the other wight meat. -borg286

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #593 on: October 18, 2010, 05:04:48 PM »
Q177:Is there anyway to create a vampire beside the obvious(being bitten to death by another vampire)?

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #594 on: October 18, 2010, 05:21:33 PM »
Q177:Is there anyway to create a vampire beside the obvious(being bitten to death by another vampire)?
Creating a custom ritual to apply the template, would be another.
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

NeverGetDrunkButStaySober

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #595 on: October 18, 2010, 05:22:23 PM »
A177: Consuming some Flesh of Orcus (Ghostwalk) works for most characters. It also happens to be quite cheap (6K GP). In addition to working on the standard types for vampires, it also works on several other types (not constructs or outsiders, though).

Sinfire Titan

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5697
  • You've got one round to give a rat's ass.
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #596 on: October 18, 2010, 06:01:36 PM »
Q174: Is it explicitly stated anywhere that a damaging area effect (such as fireball) roll once for damage and use that result against everything within its area? (Or is the opposite explicitly stated anywhere?)

Not in the SRD, but check the Rules Compendium if you have it. I believe that this is actually a common house rule to expedite combat (as rolling damage for a spell like Maw of Chaos that many times would be really tedious) that was implemented properly in 4E.

Q176: This is mostly a request for confirmation. A caster/manifester that casts antimagic field/null psionics field is himself subject to the effects the field, correct? So any buffs or magic items on him would cease to function.

A176: Correct.


[spoiler][/spoiler]

juton

  • King Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Jack of all trades, master of nothing.
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #597 on: October 18, 2010, 06:46:21 PM »
Q177

Is there anyway a Druid can where metal armour (specifically Mithral) without losing his spells and abilities?

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #598 on: October 18, 2010, 06:48:41 PM »
Q177

Is there anyway a Druid can where metal armour (specifically Mithral) without losing his spells and abilities?
Grey Gaurd?  Failing that, the Tiger Shirt in MIC can be worn by Druids, despite it being mithril.
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

InnaBinder

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1610
  • OnnaTable
    • Okay - - Your Turn: Monte Cook's Message Board
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #599 on: October 18, 2010, 06:50:01 PM »
Q177

Is there anyway a Druid can where metal armour (specifically Mithral) without losing his spells and abilities?
A177
a) Worship Meilikki, who expressly allows it.
b) Prestige into Fochlucan Lyrist.
Winning an argument on the internet is like winning in the Special Olympics.  You won, but you're still retarded.

I made a Handbook!?