Author Topic: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition  (Read 163211 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #40 on: October 04, 2010, 05:28:20 AM »
Lucid dreaming is a skill from manual of the planes that lets you kill people in their sleep.
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2010, 05:45:54 AM »
Q16
Where can I find the ability Telepathic Projection as mentioned in answer 6?  What's its full text?

Telempathic Projection is from Expanded Psionics Handbook.  Also here.   

carnivore

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1671
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #42 on: October 04, 2010, 07:52:12 AM »
LUCID DREAMING
« Last Edit: October 04, 2010, 10:54:54 AM by carnivore »

Slaughterhouserock

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Hail to the king, baby.
    • Horror Movie Fans
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2010, 09:28:42 AM »
Q 18:  Are there rules for training NPCs?  I've recently acquired some elven archers(warrior class) and would like to get them some PC levels if possible.
The DM giveth and the rogue taketh away.
I have a 5 in Charisma and Diplomacy is a cross-class skill.  Hopefully I don't piss off too many people.

E-mail

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #44 on: October 04, 2010, 10:20:15 AM »
Q19

Im building and optimizing a bard for use as an NPC in a campaign that Im running, but I have encountered trouble. The bard in question will be a half-elf, with all three half-elf bard substitution levels from Races of Destiny, and the last one at bard level 8, Secrets of the Diplomat, is bothering me. It states that I give up a 4th level bard spell known gained at that level, but bars doesn't gain 4th level spells before level 10. Do I miss something here?

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #45 on: October 04, 2010, 10:41:17 AM »
Q12:I remember that there was a way to abuse time regresion but I can't remember what was it...
Anyone knows?

Bump and...
Q20:Would Astral projection protect you from dying because of the use of Transcend Mortality spell?

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #46 on: October 04, 2010, 11:34:16 AM »
Q20 The Undead control limit on Animate Dead. Is that your Overall Caster Level or your Caster Level for Animate Dead?

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #47 on: October 04, 2010, 11:41:15 AM »
Q20 The Undead control limit on Animate Dead. Is that your Overall Caster Level or your Caster Level for Animate Dead?
Spells only ever check for your caster level when casting the spell, so it would be your caster level for Animate Dead.

However, if you're a multiclass caster and can cast the spell from multiple classes, I think it's RAI that the various caster levels stack for determining the control cap (but not anything else).
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #48 on: October 04, 2010, 11:45:29 AM »

However, if you're a multiclass caster and can cast the spell from multiple classes, I think it's RAI that the various caster levels stack for determining the control cap (but not anything else).
I'm talking about simple things like +1 caster level to Necromancy Spells.

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #49 on: October 04, 2010, 11:50:34 AM »

However, if you're a multiclass caster and can cast the spell from multiple classes, I think it's RAI that the various caster levels stack for determining the control cap (but not anything else).
I'm talking about simple things like +1 caster level to Necromancy Spells.
Yes of course that should apply. It's your CL for Animate Dead, when you actually cast the spell.
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #50 on: October 04, 2010, 11:53:21 AM »
Q21 "All Necromancy spells you cast are at +4 caster level..." Does this include an Animate Dead SLA?

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #51 on: October 04, 2010, 11:55:09 AM »
Q21 "All Necromancy spells you cast are at +4 caster level..." Does this include an Animate Dead SLA?
SLAs aren't spells, so no.
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

X-Codes

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #52 on: October 04, 2010, 05:24:35 PM »
Q 18:  Are there rules for training NPCs?  I've recently acquired some elven archers(warrior class) and would like to get them some PC levels if possible.
A18: Only plot device level stuff like rebuilding AFAIK, and even then their stats will still suck.  For something a little more accessible, you might be able to re-train them to accept 2 flaws.  At that point they can have PBS, Rapid Shot, and Far Shot.  Arrange them in ranks of 10 alongside someone that can reliably hit a DC 20 Int + BAB check and use the Concentrated Volley rules from Heroes of Battle to go to town.

Q19

Im building and optimizing a bard for use as an NPC in a campaign that Im running, but I have encountered trouble. The bard in question will be a half-elf, with all three half-elf bard substitution levels from Races of Destiny, and the last one at bard level 8, Secrets of the Diplomat, is bothering me. It states that I give up a 4th level bard spell known gained at that level, but bars doesn't gain 4th level spells before level 10. Do I miss something here?
A19: I'd say change Sending to 3rd-level and have the feat replace the 3rd-level spell gained.  The official errata may have done something different.

Q21 "All Necromancy spells you cast are at +4 caster level..." Does this include an Animate Dead SLA?
A21: Actually, if the caster level of your SLA is based off your arcane/divine caster level then it becomes a check-with-your-DM kinda thing.  For Animate Dead specifically, it *will* apply to the amount of undead you control, even through the SLA, if you can cast the spell (and possibly even if you can't), and that's really the important part.  You only need a CL 5 Animate Dead and Desecrate to animate whatever undead you wanted aside from Dragons.

Ramaloke

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #53 on: October 04, 2010, 05:33:44 PM »
Q22: What type of action is it to maintain a grapple if you have improved grab? It says that to maintain a grapple you have to move into your opponents square, which is free movement, or in the case of improved grab, you drag them into your square. Now what has me so confused is how do you maintain a grapple after that.

So I grapple, then next round I drag him to me, then what do I do on the third round? He's already in my square.
Favorite Songs
Passing Afternoon Like A Stone Wish You Where Here
~\-----------------/~

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #54 on: October 04, 2010, 05:41:57 PM »
Q22: What type of action is it to maintain a grapple if you have improved grab? It says that to maintain a grapple you have to move into your opponents square, which is free movement, or in the case of improved grab, you drag them into your square. Now what has me so confused is how do you maintain a grapple after that.

So I grapple, then next round I drag him to me, then what do I do on the third round? He's already in my square.
A22: You don't have to maintain the grapple after the first round. Unless your opponent tries to escape, he's still grappled automatically the next round after you've moved into his square (or dragged him into yours). So you don't do anything at all.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2010, 05:43:42 PM by PhaedrusXY »
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

muhammed

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #55 on: October 04, 2010, 06:02:47 PM »
Q23: where can I find ACF and feats for the Spellthief class

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #56 on: October 04, 2010, 06:07:45 PM »
Q23: where can I find ACF and feats for the Spellthief class

Dragon magazine 353....

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

X-Codes

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #58 on: October 04, 2010, 06:41:36 PM »
Hmm... Godsblood Spelltheft is a pretty good feat if you pick the right domain.  I guess Font of Inspiration just kinda over-shadows it.

Ramaloke

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #59 on: October 04, 2010, 06:49:33 PM »
Q22: What type of action is it to maintain a grapple if you have improved grab? It says that to maintain a grapple you have to move into your opponents square, which is free movement, or in the case of improved grab, you drag them into your square. Now what has me so confused is how do you maintain a grapple after that.

So I grapple, then next round I drag him to me, then what do I do on the third round? He's already in my square.
A22: You don't have to maintain the grapple after the first round. Unless your opponent tries to escape, he's still grappled automatically the next round after you've moved into his square (or dragged him into yours). So you don't do anything at all.

That sounds good, Im working on something that can do 10 grapple attacks per round. :D
Favorite Songs
Passing Afternoon Like A Stone Wish You Where Here
~\-----------------/~