Author Topic: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition  (Read 111665 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #520 on: September 23, 2010, 06:33:12 PM »
Q235

Where can I find the rules for creating wands with 1 charge in them? Are there such rules?
I''m trying to save some dough.
They are under the Craft Scroll or Potion rules, and are called scrolls and potions. There aren't single-charged spell-trigger items in the game. There's an optional rule that strongly suggests DMs allow players to buy partially charged wands during character creation, representing that they were once fully charge or found as loot, and have now been burned down to their present state, but as far as making them with fewer charges, they do not exist.
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #521 on: September 23, 2010, 06:33:46 PM »
Q235

Where can I find the rules for creating wands with 1 charge in them? Are there such rules?
I''m trying to save some dough.

While you can not create a wand with less than 50 charges you are able to buy them that way.....
What you can do is create a staff which will cost much less if you make the spell use more than 1 charge....

Epimetheus

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #522 on: September 23, 2010, 06:48:04 PM »
Q 236 Is it possible for someone with the item creation feat(s) for Magic Armor and Weapons to improve existing magic weapons/armor? If so where is that rule found, and do they just craft based on the difference in prices of the final and original item? Same for Craft Wondrous Item if they just want to improve a wondrous item (ex. Improving an Augment Crystal from the least to lesser version).

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #523 on: September 23, 2010, 06:53:38 PM »
Q237 Are there any low ECL playable Nagas?

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #524 on: September 23, 2010, 06:57:49 PM »
Q237 Are there any low ECL playable Nagas?
Greensnake naga (OA).  LA+1, great stats.
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #525 on: September 23, 2010, 07:03:16 PM »
Q 236 Is it possible for someone with the item creation feat(s) for Magic Armor and Weapons to improve existing magic weapons/armor? If so where is that rule found, and do they just craft based on the difference in prices of the final and original item? Same for Craft Wondrous Item if they just want to improve a wondrous item (ex. Improving an Augment Crystal from the least to lesser version).
The magic item compendium has the most recent rules for this. There are also some rules in the SRD/DMG. You just add the difference in cost, as long as you're only "upgrading", IIRC. If you're combining functions, it may cost more if it isn't something "basic" (basic would be like adding an enhancement bonus to Int to some other kind of headband).
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #526 on: September 23, 2010, 07:15:25 PM »
q238 Any way to increase the effective level of an SLA?

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #527 on: September 23, 2010, 07:18:42 PM »
q238 Any way to increase the effective level of an SLA?
I think eldritch corruption, and possibly power surge from dragon.
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #528 on: September 23, 2010, 07:21:15 PM »
Q239:Does true mind switch work against any creature?
Could I for example use it against a Great Wyrm dragon?

archangel.arcanis

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2938
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #529 on: September 23, 2010, 07:23:11 PM »
Q239:Does true mind switch work against any creature?
Could I for example use it against a Great Wyrm dragon?
The only targeting limitation is "another creature" though because it is mind affecting anything with immunity to such spells/powers would laugh at you.
Clerics and Druids are like the 4 and 2 in 42. Together they are the answer to the ultimate question in D&D.
Retire the character before the DM smacks you with the Table as the book will feel totally inadequate now.-Hazren

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #530 on: September 23, 2010, 07:24:07 PM »
Q239:Does true mind switch work against any creature?
Could I for example use it against a Great Wyrm dragon?
The only targeting limitation is "another creature" though because it is mind affecting anything with immunity to such spells/powers would laugh at you.
Knowledge Affiliation makes that a non-issue. Truemindswitch + Tarrasque + Druid 20 = lawlz?
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #531 on: September 23, 2010, 07:32:32 PM »
Q239:Does true mind switch work against any creature?
Could I for example use it against a Great Wyrm dragon?
The only targeting limitation is "another creature" though because it is mind affecting anything with immunity to such spells/powers would laugh at you.
Knowledge Affiliation makes that a non-issue. Truemindswitch + Tarrasque + Druid 20 = lawlz?
There is also a HD limit of your manifester level.  Other than these limits, there are none.
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #532 on: September 23, 2010, 07:42:21 PM »
Q239:Does true mind switch work against any creature?
Could I for example use it against a Great Wyrm dragon?
The only targeting limitation is "another creature" though because it is mind affecting anything with immunity to such spells/powers would laugh at you.
Knowledge Affiliation makes that a non-issue. Truemindswitch + Tarrasque + Druid 20 = lawlz?
There is also a HD limit of your manifester level.  Other than these limits, there are none.

Nice....
So the idea is that an epic psion wanted to be a dragon....

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #533 on: September 23, 2010, 07:57:58 PM »
The 3.5 tarrasque isn't immune to mind affecting effects, but that's a good idea for the Pathfinder tarrasque. 

You'd need to be able to boost your manifester to 48 (30 for the Pathfinder version) or get some negative levels on the tarrasque to mind switch with it. 

At level 24, improved overchannel (Complete Psionic) makes it easy to get your manifester level to 48.  I don't know how to do it pre-epic thought.  Knowledge affiliation could work to make the tarrasque vulnerable to negative levels. 

Hitoshura

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #534 on: September 23, 2010, 10:20:56 PM »
Q240. When i charge while mounted, does my mount get an attack too?

If so, if i manage to get my ubermount pounce and Ride-By-Attack (or Adroit Flyby-Attack), does it charge, full attack, and get away from there in the same round?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2010, 01:33:40 PM by Hitoshura »

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #535 on: September 23, 2010, 11:08:52 PM »
Q 241: Is there a resource that categorizes new material published on the Wizards of the Coast site by type instead of article?  A guide to free D&D is close, but it makes no distinction between excerpts and web-only material.  Also, off the top of my head, it's missing the alternate class features from the Cityscape web enhancement and epic progressions from Epic Insights. 

Gilfanon

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #536 on: September 23, 2010, 11:30:27 PM »
Q242: How would I calculate the caster level for the following character, assuming Master Spellthief is taken?: Bard 1/Spellthief 1/Wizard 3/Ultimate Magus2/Incantatrix 3/Sublime Chord 1/Initiate of the Sevenfold Veil 7/Ultimate Magus 3-4.

Epimetheus

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #537 on: September 24, 2010, 12:46:57 AM »
Q 243 How much damage does a maximized empowered CL 10 fireball do? 90 dmg or 60 + 5d6 dmg? How long does an extended persisted CL 10 Divine Power last? 48 hours or 10 rounds + 24 hours? I'm confused about metamagic stacking; I always heard that maximized empowered don't stack, and would yield 60 + 5d6, but some people think that extend persist = 48 hours. Can anyone explain how it works?

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #538 on: September 24, 2010, 12:57:29 AM »
Q 243 How much damage does a maximized empowered CL 10 fireball do? 90 dmg or 60 + 5d6 dmg? How long does an extended persisted CL 10 Divine Power last? 48 hours or 10 rounds + 24 hours? I'm confused about metamagic stacking; I always heard that maximized empowered don't stack, and would yield 60 + 5d6, but some people think that extend persist = 48 hours. Can anyone explain how it works?
Empower and Maximize are the only metamagics that don't stack.  All others can be applied in any order.  The Fireball would indeed deal 60+5d6 damage.

In your example, the duration is 48 hours, because that's the most beneficial.  Persist sets the duration to 24 hours (no matter what it was before!) and Extend doubles that to 48.
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #539 on: September 24, 2010, 01:55:56 AM »
At level 24, improved overchannel (Complete Psionic) makes it easy to get your manifester level to 48.  I don't know how to do it pre-epic thought.  Knowledge affiliation could work to make the tarrasque vulnerable to negative levels. 
Have your cleric buddy with a jacked-up caster level cast Mental Pinnacle, then manifest Fusion on him. Now you have a jacked-up manifester level. :D
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]