Author Topic: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition  (Read 111659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vistella

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #400 on: September 21, 2010, 11:28:07 AM »
Q207
why did we skip Q102 - 201?  :D

KellKheraptis

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2668
  • What's the matter? I thought you had me...
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #401 on: September 21, 2010, 11:41:47 AM »
A 207: Good question.  I blame Monty and the Save Game shuffle.  Or Emperor Tippy.  :D

Q 208: Where is the clause stating one doesn't need to meet the prerequisites for bonus feats?  Savage Species or is it now part of the 3.5 Monster Manual?  And going off of that, other than a DMG to the face, what's stopping bloodline abuse with this?
BG's Resident Black Hatter
The Mango List Reborn!
My Warmage Trickery (coming soon!)
My PrC Pally Trickery (coming soon!)
The D&D Archive
-Work in progress!

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #402 on: September 21, 2010, 11:47:40 AM »
A208: The only one I can think of is in the MMI, in the back in the feats section. It is, of course, highly, highly debatable that this clause applies to PC's (I think it doesn't, there was a thread about this a couple months ago). In fact, it was determined that only "racial bonus feats" are the ones that can be taken without prereqs, even though the line doesn't explicitly state that. It was all done through reading the RAW by context.

Q209: Where can I find a collection/compendium of all dragon magazines online pertainable to 3.5e? Preferably free. ;)
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

KellKheraptis

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2668
  • What's the matter? I thought you had me...
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #403 on: September 21, 2010, 11:50:18 AM »
A208: The only one I can think of is in the MMI, in the back in the feats section. It is, of course, highly, highly debatable that this clause applies to PC's (I think it doesn't, there was a thread about this a couple months ago).

Q209: Where can I find a collection/compendium of all dragon magazines online pertainable to 3.5e? Preferably free. ;)

A 209: Crystal Keep and Forgotten Realms Helps immediately come to mind, and both have a good supply of Dragon mag swag.
BG's Resident Black Hatter
The Mango List Reborn!
My Warmage Trickery (coming soon!)
My PrC Pally Trickery (coming soon!)
The D&D Archive
-Work in progress!

jojolagger

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 951
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #404 on: September 21, 2010, 11:50:56 AM »

Q 208: Where is the clause stating one doesn't need to meet the prerequisites for bonus feats?  Savage Species or is it now part of the 3.5 Monster Manual?  And going off of that, other than a DMG to the face, what's stopping bloodline abuse with this?
If the bonus feat is for PC's, it will say whether or not you need the Prerequisites. You usually only don't need prerequisites for feats that you don't get to choose or that come from a very small list.
Countdown to Zombie Apocalypse 97
When you see this, copy it into your sig and -1
:lovefirefox
Quotes [spoiler]
In other words, he thinks there's a "correct" way to play D&D.  *sigh*
There is: Kill shit and loot the corpse!
When you use a tool the way it was designed for -- its intended function -- then it will work very well for you.

But it's not the tool's fault if you use it for something else and you fail utterly, such as trying to eat cereal with a butterknife, pounding nails with a screwdriver, blogging to voice your political opinions, and brushing your teeth with a hammer.
[/spoiler]

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #405 on: September 21, 2010, 11:53:59 AM »

Q 208: Where is the clause stating one doesn't need to meet the prerequisites for bonus feats?  Savage Species or is it now part of the 3.5 Monster Manual?  And going off of that, other than a DMG to the face, what's stopping bloodline abuse with this?
If the bonus feat is for PC's, it will say whether or not you need the Prerequisites. You usually only don't need prerequisites for feats that you don't get to choose or that come from a very small list.
Sometimes it doesn't say anything about prerequisites. I argue that these situations fall under the general rules for taking feats, and the prerequisites must be met.

In the case of monsters, some feats fit the flavor when they are being built, so feats are applied without prereqs as racial bonus feats.
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #406 on: September 21, 2010, 11:54:22 AM »
While we're on the subject:

Q 204: Is there an inexpensive way for a wizard to be able to consistently make a DC 25 intelligence check? 

Focusing chant (Spell Compendium 96), improvisation (Spell Compendium 121), and surge of fortune (Complete Champion 128) provide bonuses to ability checks but are not on the wizard list and are personal range.  Good hope (Player's Handbook 237) can provide +2.  You can take 10 on ability checks.  Ability checks aren't specifically listed as something aid another helps with. 

That's as much as I've thought of. 
Rerolls should help a lot.
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

Takanaki

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 506
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #407 on: September 21, 2010, 11:56:49 AM »
Q210: How do you determine which creatures can or cannot wear your equipment when you Shapechange into them? Could a Pit Fiend for instance wear armour, it is human shaped but it has wings.. and so on.

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #408 on: September 21, 2010, 11:59:06 AM »
A210: Magical items will resize to fit a new size, but will not accommodate extra limbs or wings. In the case of the pit fiend, your armor melds into your form becoming useless. The same would go for forms with more than 2 arms, etc.
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

Felix Underwood

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #409 on: September 21, 2010, 01:53:10 PM »
Q 206Could someone remind me of the method(s) of applying Power Attack with a thrown weapon?

Brutal Throw, CW (I think, it may be Adv). IF not that, there is another feat related to it in the same book.

A 206 Complete Adventurer.

Brutal Throw:  allows you to add Strength modifier to attack rolls instead of your Dex modifier.

Power Throw:  like power attack, but with thrown weapons (requires Str 13, power attack, and brutal throw)

Ithamar

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 959
  • PM me if you're interested in some Arena action!
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #410 on: September 21, 2010, 02:01:29 PM »
Q211:  How does Echoing Spell (Secrest of Xen'drik) interact with the Incantatrix's Metamagic Effect ability?  If a wizard casts wall of force, and then the incantatrix comes along and applies Echoing Spell to it, does he suddenly have wall of force prepared?
Are you worthy of Ascension?
Always accepting gladiators!  Now with a new and improved rule set!

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #411 on: September 21, 2010, 02:47:34 PM »
Q211:  How does Echoing Spell (Secrest of Xen'drik) interact with the Incantatrix's Metamagic Effect ability?  If a wizard casts wall of force, and then the incantatrix comes along and applies Echoing Spell to it, does he suddenly have wall of force prepared?
Depends.  If an incantrix forces persist onto a spell, does it last 24 hours after he Metamagic Effects it, or does it count from the original time?
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

Ithamar

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 959
  • PM me if you're interested in some Arena action!
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #412 on: September 21, 2010, 02:49:57 PM »
Is this one of those questions like "What is the sound of one hand clapping?"
Are you worthy of Ascension?
Always accepting gladiators!  Now with a new and improved rule set!

Zym

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #413 on: September 21, 2010, 04:17:21 PM »
Q212: What type action is it to "command" Undead in Combat that are created (not Summoned or Commanded via Rebuke) and how many can be commanded at once?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2010, 04:48:27 PM by Zym »

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #414 on: September 21, 2010, 04:23:42 PM »
Q212: What type action is it to "command" Undead in Combat that are created (not Summoned or Commanded via Rebuke) and how many can be commanded at once?

A212: You mean created by Animate Dead (or from that pool)? It's a free action. They obey spoken commands, and it's a free action to speak. You can even speak when it isn't your turn, unlike other free actions.

There is no limit on how many you can command, except your DMs sanity (and the number you can animate via the spell, or whatever).
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

LunaticsLament

  • Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #415 on: September 21, 2010, 04:48:19 PM »
You know, I'd actually recommend Perform Singing instead of the lute. It frees your hands for wielding weapons and whatnot. Besides, as far as mantaining performance, just use Animate Instruments.
I've never really understood why people always want to maintain their songs, anyway. They last for 5 rounds even if you don't, which is longer than most combats. Take Song of the White Raven, throw out your song, and then do something useful. It absolutely drives me crazy when I join a group and the party bard just sits there doing nothing but singing for the whole combat. It makes me want to kill them.
Actually, most people get the rule about sustaining songs wrong.

It DOES NOT take a standard action to keep Inspire Courage up. You're just required to keep up your performance, which if you're singing, means you get to cut people up while you're at it.

All the debate we had about which instrument to use is pretty much negated by the fact that Fochlucan Lyrist calls for 13 ranks Perform (string instrument.)
"The capacity of the human mind for swallowing nonsense and spewing it forth in violent and repressive action has never yet been plumbed. "
~Robert Heinlein

InnaBinder

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1610
  • OnnaTable
    • Okay - - Your Turn: Monte Cook's Message Board
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #416 on: September 21, 2010, 04:50:08 PM »
You know, I'd actually recommend Perform Singing instead of the lute. It frees your hands for wielding weapons and whatnot. Besides, as far as mantaining performance, just use Animate Instruments.
I've never really understood why people always want to maintain their songs, anyway. They last for 5 rounds even if you don't, which is longer than most combats. Take Song of the White Raven, throw out your song, and then do something useful. It absolutely drives me crazy when I join a group and the party bard just sits there doing nothing but singing for the whole combat. It makes me want to kill them.
Actually, most people get the rule about sustaining songs wrong.

It DOES NOT take a standard action to keep Inspire Courage up. You're just required to keep up your performance, which if you're singing, means you get to cut people up while you're at it.

All the debate we had about which instrument to use is pretty much negated by the fact that Fochlucan Lyrist calls for 13 ranks Perform (string instrument.)
Versatile Performer makes that negation debatable.
Winning an argument on the internet is like winning in the Special Olympics.  You won, but you're still retarded.

I made a Handbook!?

Zym

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #417 on: September 21, 2010, 04:50:35 PM »
Q212: What type action is it to "command" Undead in Combat that are created (not Summoned or Commanded via Rebuke) and how many can be commanded at once?

A212: You mean created by Animate Dead (or from that pool)? It's a free action. They obey spoken commands, and it's a free action to speak. You can even speak when it isn't your turn, unlike other free actions.

There is no limit on how many you can command, except your DMs sanity (and the number you can animate via the spell, or whatever).

Yes, from the Animate/Create Line of Undead Spells.
I figured it was a free action as it says they obey your verbal commands but wanted to make sure I wasn't overlooking anything else (probably due to Rebuke Commanded Undead being a mental standard command).

Thanks

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #418 on: September 21, 2010, 04:51:52 PM »
Q212: What type action is it to "command" Undead in Combat that are created (not Summoned or Commanded via Rebuke) and how many can be commanded at once?

A212: You mean created by Animate Dead (or from that pool)? It's a free action. They obey spoken commands, and it's a free action to speak. You can even speak when it isn't your turn, unlike other free actions.

There is no limit on how many you can command, except your DMs sanity (and the number you can animate via the spell, or whatever).

Yes, from the Animate/Create Line of Undead Spells.
I figured it was a free action as it says they obey your verbal commands but wanted to make sure I wasn't overlooking anything else (probably due to Rebuke Commanded Undead being a mental standard command).

Thanks
You don't control the ones from the Create Undead line of spells at all, normally. They are created as uncontrolled, free-willed undead.
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A #17 -- the "your mama's so ___ ... " edition
« Reply #419 on: September 21, 2010, 04:58:11 PM »
Q 213 What flaw would be best to take for a Duskblade?
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.