Author Topic: Building a Pathfinder melee villian  (Read 3289 times)

SolEiji

• Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • Summon the Meteor Pony!
    • D&D Wiki.Org
    • Email
Building a Pathfinder melee villian
« on: August 03, 2010, 05:26:04 AM »
I'm in need to make a dangerous melee villian that is vaguely, well, this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efJlhwRmRfw

I know I want to focus on disarming and/or sundering, and give the PCs a run for the money.  To his credit he will have an intelligent item of some sort, and a cloaker cleric on his back, though only the intelligent item will be with him constantly, the cloaker on his back is only there for the first battle.  The only problem is I am not good with pathfinder fighters and there's no handbook for them yet, so I turn to you.

The Opposition:
*Human Summoner, proven effective, his summon is currently the BSF.
*Halfling Fighter/Sorcerer, an archer type, hits well but low damage output.
*Vanara Wizard (a monkey race from OA), should be strong but player is ineffective, not very wise on wizards.

As you can probably tell, 3.5 feats and races are in, provided PF doesn't replace them.  3.5 weapons are also in as well as PF weapons so spiked chains aren't nerfed anymore.  Preferably for flavor reasons giving him an axe is ideal, but not required.  Everything else is PF.  I'll be building it as if it was a PC, ablit at a higher level.  30 point buy and an extra feat are available.  Being the DM, I'll willing to bend these rules if needed, but will try not to.

Party is ECL 5.  I figure I should aim for level 8 or 9 for the boss fight.  I do have him planned as a reoccuring villian to, so if I can get him an excape route (UMD and a scroll of dimension door?) that would be good.