Author Topic: [PATHFINDER] How to add the Fiendish Template to a Wizard's Summon Monster IV?  (Read 4153 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Endarire

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • Email
Assuming I have access to all Pathfinder and 3.5 material, how can I add the Fiendish template to creatures I summon?  I especially want a Friendish Hound Archon.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2010, 04:41:44 AM by Endarire »
Hood - My first answer to all your build questions; past, present, and future.

Speaking of which:
Don't even need TO for this.  Any decent Hood build, especially one with Celerity, one-rounds [Azathoth, the most powerful greater deity from d20 Cthulu].
Does it bug anyone else that we've reached the point where characters who can obliterate a greater deity in one round are considered "decent?"

Gnorman

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 111
  • I'm a monster. Rawr.
Assuming I have access to all Pathfinder and 3.5 material, how can I add the Fiendish template to creatures I summon?  I especially want a Friendish Hound Archon.

Why would you want to? A hound archon already has most of the benefits of the fiendish template. The only thing it would gain is resistance to cold and fire and the ability to smite good 1/day. I'd rule that a fiendish hound archon would be summonable at the same level as a regular hound archon, if only because it's not really gaining anything measurable in the process. Stricter DMs could put it at one level higher.

You can't do it by RAW as far as I'm aware, but RAW is mutable at worst and ignorable at best.

lianightdemon

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
I wouldn't allow it as a DM. Applying an evil template to a good outsider? Even if the thing was corrupted by the demonic forces it would likely just turn into one of the devil or demon types.

Gnorman

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 111
  • I'm a monster. Rawr.
I wouldn't allow it as a DM. Applying an evil template to a good outsider? Even if the thing was corrupted by the demonic forces it would likely just turn into one of the devil or demon types.


Disagreed. Planescape gives us redeemed osyluths, why not corrupted hound archons? If it's just the fluff you're looking for, I don't see any reason why a fallen archon isn't possible.

Akalsaris

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1143
    • Email
Well, if you're a neutral summoner, then any animal you summon is either celestial or fiendish, chosen when you summon it.  For a hound archon, you could probably bind one, Wish for it to be corrupted (or arrange its fall), and then summon that specific one later on, with a permissive DM.

Using 3.5 sources, there is a spell in the Spell Compendium that gives a creature the fiendish template.  I think it's 8th lvl Sorc/Wiz.

Endarire

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • Email
Vile death (Spell Compendium) gives undead creatures the Fiendish template.  It's L9.
Hood - My first answer to all your build questions; past, present, and future.

Speaking of which:
Don't even need TO for this.  Any decent Hood build, especially one with Celerity, one-rounds [Azathoth, the most powerful greater deity from d20 Cthulu].
Does it bug anyone else that we've reached the point where characters who can obliterate a greater deity in one round are considered "decent?"

Hijax

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 646
  • Kobolds ate my cookies
Vile death (Spell Compendium) gives undead creatures the Fiendish template.  It's L9.

ok, fuck.

stop time, break the game, or grant a CR+2 template to a specific creature type? i really cant decide...
               wish, of course
"There's more to apocalypse than running around like a maniac you know"
-B. M. Evilwizardington.
blogging at disasters made in china

Anklebite

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2009
  • I shall play you the song of my people.
Vile death (Spell Compendium) gives undead creatures the Fiendish template.  It's L9.

ok, fuck.

stop time, break the game, or grant a CR+2 template to a specific creature type? i really cant decide...
               wish, of course
it has an xp cost. of about 250 or so.   :lmao

get it on a scroll.
I do not suffer from paranoia; I enjoy every second of it.
Pioneer of the Ultimate Magus + Sublime Chord + Ultimate Magus combo

Akalsaris

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1143
    • Email
Hey, this is something that probably falls within the scope of a Wish spell, so I think it's a legitimate use of the spell :P  Hell, if you can bind a Glabrezu then they'll probably grant the wish to corrupt a hound archon without any qualms: it's what they live to do, anyhow.