Author Topic: Acane Hierophant or Fochlucan Lyrist? (quite lengthy)  (Read 4150 times)

wotmaniac

• Man in Gorilla Suit
  • Emperor's Enforcer
Acane Hierophant or Fochlucan Lyrist? (quite lengthy)
« on: December 20, 2009, 04:45:23 PM »
Here's the deal: though I've been DMing for over 10 years, I haven't really got very much play time, and I've never played a caster.  As such, I'm quite uncertain on what to do.
So, I'm looking for 2 things:
1) which seems like it would better fit the party?
2) need help fine-tuning my feat selection
(I think I may have posted something similar to this a while back; but that one was more theoretical, and, at that time, I had no actual context or game specifics -- this one is loaded with details)

So, here's the break-down (better grab a snickers):

general game stuff:
[spoiler]
- all WotC books allowed
 -- other sources (drag.mag., 3rd party, etc.) subject to approval on case-by-case basis (and even that, on a item-by-item basis)
- can only advance one PrC at a time (i.e., must fully complete advancement in one before I can move on to another)
- cannot use magic items to qualify as feat/PrC prereqs (i.e., must actually take the feat/class feature)
- magic items are very rare, and thus hard to come by (i.e., can't really count on getting anything specific; and little of it, at that)
- do to our geographic location, we are pretty much on our own (i.e., little-to-no logistical support)
- DM is a casualty to Stormwind -- frowns on CO, and all builds must be thematic/story driven (and subsequently approved), and the detailed background must also meet his scrutiny (this is only an issue if you're trying to do something he considers "exotic").
- the pantheon is very simple, clerics worship elements