Author Topic: Stargate  (Read 1587 times)

Alkaru

• Ring-Tailed Lemur
Stargate
« on: January 16, 2011, 06:23:08 PM »
I'm thinking of starting up a new D&D campaign in the Stargate setting, and I remember seeing some D20 books for it.  They looked absolutely stunning, but does anyone remember if there is any good crunch in them? Oh yeah, is it using the Modern rules or not? (I've never used Modern before). It's done by AEG and I've never been that impressed with their stuff before, but thought it was worth checking here.

In case it helps, I'm not too interested in following the standard SG-1 side of things.  The basic plan so far is that one Goa'uld threw the others off planet Earth, and decided to carry out a social experiment which largely involved him remaining hidden from the population, with some key exceptions.  Don't want to turn this into a religious debate thread, but yes this was a complicated plan involving certain apparently monotheistic religions. 

Also, given I'm planning to start things as kind of occult conspiracy style, is Modern worth looking at anyway?

Thanks

juton

• King Kong
  • Jack of all trades, master of nothing.
    • Email
Re: Stargate
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 06:49:57 PM »
The biggest change I remember is dynamic initiative. For instance if you pin down some Jaffa with some suppressing fire their initiative count goes down. Sounds like it could be either really neat or a real pain. The book seemed like it would have enough crunch for someone to run a game in it. The classes/feats seem similar to d20 modern, even if they aren't the same the should be the same general power level. For the campaign you're thinking of you'll probably have to stat up things that aren't in the books, but you'll have to do that with any system, so Stargate d20 should probably work for your game.

Alkaru

• Ring-Tailed Lemur
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 07:02:32 PM »