Author Topic: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?  (Read 2155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Endarire

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • Email
A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« on: November 19, 2010, 04:21:20 AM »
I was hoping I could use my uber Red Wizard CL of 47 on a UMDed Staff of holy word.

I know I can UMD a staff with a high enough check, but what would the CL be?
Hood - My first answer to all your build questions; past, present, and future.

Speaking of which:
Don't even need TO for this.  Any decent Hood build, especially one with Celerity, one-rounds [Azathoth, the most powerful greater deity from d20 Cthulu].
Does it bug anyone else that we've reached the point where characters who can obliterate a greater deity in one round are considered "decent?"

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2010, 05:14:12 AM »
As far as I can tell, UMD does not work that way.


Quote
This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature.
Quote
Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2010, 06:06:32 AM »
You would be better with taking arcane disciple to gain Holy word on your spelllist and use it in a staff normally.....

Echoes

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 476
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 06:16:59 AM »
As far as I can tell, UMD does not work that way.


Quote
This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature.
Quote
Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use

What? No, UMD does exactly what the OP wants. From the SRD:

Quote
This use of the skill also applies to other spell trigger magic items, such as staffs.

Since staffs always use your CL if it's higher than their base CL, a Red Wizard can absolutely UMD a staff of holy word and use their boosted CL.
BrokeAndDrive speaks the Truth (linked for great justice and signature limits)

Quotes I Found Entertaining:

Huge amounts of people are fuckwits. That doesn't mean that fuckwit is a valid lifestyle.

As a general rule, murdering people and taking their stuff is pretty much superior to breaking their stuff, murdering them, then not having any stuff to take.

Out of Context Theater
[spoiler]
Oh I'll make a party. I'll make a party so hard... I'll make a party that makes you feel so awkward downstairs.

You'll see the party and only be able to respond, "Oh yeah baby."
[/spoiler]

Endarire

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • Email
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2010, 06:26:02 AM »
What's the UMD check to activate the staff?
Hood - My first answer to all your build questions; past, present, and future.

Speaking of which:
Don't even need TO for this.  Any decent Hood build, especially one with Celerity, one-rounds [Azathoth, the most powerful greater deity from d20 Cthulu].
Does it bug anyone else that we've reached the point where characters who can obliterate a greater deity in one round are considered "decent?"

AndyJames

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3112
  • Meep?
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2010, 06:28:18 AM »
As far as I can tell, UMD does not work that way.


Quote
This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature.
Quote
Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use

What? No, UMD does exactly what the OP wants. From the SRD:

Quote
This use of the skill also applies to other spell trigger magic items, such as staffs.

Since staffs always use your CL if it's higher than their base CL, a Red Wizard can absolutely UMD a staff of holy word and use their boosted CL.


I think he means that the Red Wizard doesn't have a CLERIC caster level, and so will use the staff's level only.

betrayor

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
    • Email
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2010, 06:30:47 AM »
What's the UMD check to activate the staff?

It is 20...

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2010, 06:35:24 AM »
As far as I can tell, UMD does not work that way.


Quote
This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature.
Quote
Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use

What? No, UMD does exactly what the OP wants. From the SRD:

Quote
This use of the skill also applies to other spell trigger magic items, such as staffs.

Since staffs always use your CL if it's higher than their base CL, a Red Wizard can absolutely UMD a staff of holy word and use their boosted CL.


I think he means that the Red Wizard doesn't have a CLERIC caster level, and so will use the staff's level only.
Yeah, that's what I'm saying.
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

spacemonkey555

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2010, 06:44:35 AM »
I think he means that the Red Wizard doesn't have a CLERIC caster level, and so will use the staff's level only.

The UMD rules specify that you use spell trigger items as if the spell were on your list, so you would use your own caster level if better.

"This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill also applies to other spell trigger magic items, such as staffs."

Echoes

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 476
Re: A Red Wizard of Thay's Staff of Holy Word: How does this work?
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2010, 08:05:16 AM »
class to apply your caster level to any particular staff?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 08:08:10 AM by Echoes »
BrokeAndDrive speaks the Truth (linked for great justice and signature limits)

Quotes I Found Entertaining:

Huge amounts of people are fuckwits. That doesn't mean that fuckwit is a valid lifestyle.

As a general rule, murdering people and taking their stuff is pretty much superior to breaking their stuff, murdering them, then not having any stuff to take.

Out of Context Theater
[spoiler]
Oh I'll make a party. I'll make a party so hard... I'll make a party that makes you feel so awkward downstairs.

You'll see the party and only be able to respond, "Oh yeah baby."
[/spoiler]