Brilliant Gameologists Forum

The Thinktank => Min/Max It! => Topic started by: daken201 on April 15, 2009, 04:15:59 PM

Title: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: daken201 on April 15, 2009, 04:15:59 PM
Ok guy's and gall's I have me a question and figured that if what i hope is right then it belongs here.
In the description of shapesand it states that you can shape it by will and that it stays shaped while within 100 feet of you. Now i have always assumed that you could shape it from 100 feet away also. so that is my first question.

Do you have to be working with it phisicaly to shape it or can you do it at range sense it is a force of will?

My second question is, how long does it take to shape it into something a day, a round, what?

I was just thinking of a character who used that as a defence weapon.
Someone shooting arrows at you? Just make a wall.
A walking steriod coming your way? just put a dome on him.

Sense shapesand can take on the propertys of just about anything it can have the same propertys as a wall of adamantine or if you have a easy going DM a wall of force ;)
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: Kuroimaken on April 15, 2009, 04:20:30 PM
Ok guy's and gall's I have me a question and figured that if what i hope is right then it belongs here.
In the description of shapesand it states that you can shape it by will and that it stays shaped while within 100 feet of you. Now i have always assumed that you could shape it from 100 feet away also. so that is my first question.

Do you have to be working with it phisicaly to shape it or can you do it at range sense it is a force of will?

My second question is, how long does it take to shape it into something a day, a round, what?

I was just thinking of a character who used that as a defence weapon.
Someone shooting arrows at you? Just make a wall.
A walking steriod coming your way? just put a dome on him.

Sense shapesand can take on the propertys of just about anything it can have the same propertys as a wall of adamantine or if you have a easy going DM a wall of force ;)

The at-will clause of shapesand merely means you can shape it into anything you want.
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: daken201 on April 15, 2009, 06:16:24 PM
Wow, that was a quick responce.
But thats the thing. I cant find how long it takes anywhere. It doesn't even say at will it says with an act of will you can controll it.
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: Kuroimaken on April 15, 2009, 07:31:11 PM
Wow, that was a quick responce.
But thats the thing. I cant find how long it takes anywhere. It doesn't even say at will it says with an act of will you can controll it.


Well, I do loiter these boards a lot.  :p

I'll take a better look at it and get right back to you. Although, usually, using a magic item is a standard action.
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: AfterCrescent on April 16, 2009, 10:23:56 PM
It's an alchemical item, and while those are not always well defined, functions like a magic item. Thus, shaping the sand requires the check and takes a standard action, much like most use-activated magic items.

The item is poorly explained and defined, so it would be up to the DM as to whether you have to be in contact with the sand or not. One thing to note is that the item can be contested, which could lead credence to the argument that one can shape it at a range. Otherwise how would two people contest the item?
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: Kuroimaken on April 16, 2009, 10:53:46 PM
It's an alchemical item, and while those are not always well defined, functions like a magic item. Thus, shaping the sand requires the check and takes a standard action, much like most use-activated magic items.

The item is poorly explained and defined, so it would be up to the DM as to whether you have to be in contact with the sand or not. One thing to note is that the item can be contested, which could lead credence to the argument that one can shape it at a range. Otherwise how would two people contest the item?

Two people grab the same item, perfectly feasible.

That said, in order to have lots of fun with the item, lots of it will be required.  :D
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: AfterCrescent on April 16, 2009, 10:55:45 PM
Yeah, of course, Kuro. ;) I was just stating that it can be argued either way. It has no RAW, so it's fully a DM's call, although likely you must be 'in possession' to use it, so yeah...
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: veekie on April 17, 2009, 01:19:45 AM
What if instead you are connected to the main body of the shapesand by a streamer of shapesand?
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: Negative Zero on April 17, 2009, 02:47:32 AM
Think Kankuro.
Title: Re: Shapesand question, please help.
Post by: daken201 on April 17, 2009, 12:52:37 PM
Awsome, thanks guys that helps a lot. One more thing though, to contest it one would think that the opponent would have to know that he could take it with a force of will. Shapesand is NOT a common thing in the campaign world lol.