Brilliant Gameologists Forum

The Thinktank => Min/Max It! => Topic started by: Kormoran on June 09, 2011, 06:49:53 AM

Title: Thaumaturgist.
Post by: Kormoran on June 09, 2011, 06:49:53 AM
Planar Cohort.
Question: it says that the planar ally should be ECL = CharLvl-2... Is it really ECL or does it mean CR? A lot of creature do not give Level Adj. among stats... and sincerely, ECL-2 should be REALLY underpowered (it means that a 18th Char - yay! - could get a... Erinyes: undoubtfully nice, but... could a CR 8 creature being helpful in a 18th level combat?).
On the contrary using CR = charLvl -2 you should get, example, a Cornugon @ 18th.

Any noted review/errata on this?
Title: Re: Thaumaturgist.
Post by: Prime32 on June 09, 2011, 12:47:13 PM
Nah, it's just that level adjustment is screwed up to begin with. If you played an erinyes in an 18th-level group you'd be equally useless. And it means that an ogre PC is less able to take punishment than a halfling PC of the same level.

Basically, though they learned a little after a while, Wizards originally calculated LA by the level a spellcaster would have to be to recreate their strongest ability, ignoring racial HD. Hence why the CR 6 nymph, who has casting as an lv7 druid but racial abilities weaker than one (their physical ability scores are lower than what wild shape can grant, and how often does a druid need high Int anyway?), has a +7 LA rather than +1.

Yes, this creates ludicrous situations where the ability to cast a 9th-level spell once per day costs +17 LA but increasing your Int costs +1 LA (which would give a high-level wizard the same effect via bonus spell slots and make the spell stronger)

Pathfinder just uses CR instead of ECL for all purposes. Races of War ( goes a little more in-depth for balance (starting with ECL = CR+1).
Title: Re: Thaumaturgist.
Post by: Kormoran on June 09, 2011, 02:33:10 PM
Should so we think "Planar Cohort" is a broken ability?
Indeed, started thinking...