Author Topic: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition  (Read 129137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Saxony

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • My avatar is from the anime "Pani Poni Dash!".
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #200 on: October 08, 2010, 05:16:05 AM »
Q78. Is there any restriction in Warshaper's Morphic Weapons? Could my Changeling, for instance, get 10 free tentacles?

Yes, it is rather broken when using that interpretation. Most people just assume it is limited to one natural weapon for the sake of sanity.
By yes, she means no. There is no restriction.
If I say something about real world physics, and someone disagrees, assume I am right 90% of the time. This number goes up to 100% if I am late night posting - trust me, my star dust sibs.


saethone

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #202 on: October 08, 2010, 05:23:59 AM »
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.


Lets hope this is an isolated case :P

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #203 on: October 08, 2010, 05:28:41 AM »
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
Permission to sig?
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.


PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #205 on: October 08, 2010, 06:03:38 AM »
or you can have a shrunk basket you wear as a hat. set to certain contingencys.. for instant 100% concelment   :D
Look at the equipment section of this character sheet. I have one. :D
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

X-Codes

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #206 on: October 08, 2010, 06:46:16 AM »
Use it to power an energy transformation field?

What's the familiar?
Coure Eladrin

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #207 on: October 08, 2010, 04:54:47 PM »
Q79: The spell Exalted Raiment from BoED states in the list that it makes you immune to CON damage and drain, but in the spell description changes that to reducing ability damage from spellcasting by 1, to a minimum of 1, what gives with that? Did they just decide the list version was a bad idea?
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

carnivore

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1671
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #208 on: October 08, 2010, 06:30:52 PM »
A79
yes , Text Trumps .... it is mainly refering to casting Sanctified Spells(Sacrifice(attribute Damage))

[spoiler]Exalted Raiment
Abjuration
Level: Sanctified 6
Components: V, DF, Sacrifice
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Target: Robe, garment, or outfit
touched
Duration: 1 minute/level
Saving Throw:Will negates (harmless,
object)
Spell Resistance: Yes (harmless,
object)
You imbue a robe, priestly garment, or
outfit of regular clothing with divine
power. The spell bestows the following
effects for its duration:
• +1 sacred bonus to AC per five caster
levels (maximum +4 at 20th level)
• Damage reduction 10/evil
• Spell resistance 5 + 1 per caster level
(maximum SR 25 at 20th level)
Reduces ability damage due to spellcasting
by 1
, to a minimum of 1 point
(but does not reduce the sacrifice cost
for casting this spell
)
Only a good-aligned creature gains
the benefits of this spell; creatures of
nongood alignment can wear the exalted
raiment but gain no spell benefits from
doing so.
Sacrifice: 1d4 points of Strength
damage
.[/spoiler]

 :D

Emo_Duck

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #209 on: October 08, 2010, 10:00:58 PM »
Q80:Looking at the SRD entries, the Permanency spell and the Incarnate power both have a definite list of spells/powers they can be used with. Are there any guidelines for using these with spells/powers not printed in the SRD? Or is it just generally assumed that they only work with the spells/powers provided in those tables?

TC X0 Lt 0X

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #210 on: October 08, 2010, 10:03:17 PM »
Q81
Does the Urban Companion Alternate Class Feature of the Druid Qualify for Improved Familiar Feat, as it is described as being identical to the Sorcerer's Summon Familiar Class Feature?
"Never beg, you earn, by winning,
or else you won't get anything..."

jameswilliamogle

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1279
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #211 on: October 08, 2010, 10:04:40 PM »
A80: Its totally a DM call as to what they'll allow and not allow (its been that way since 1st edition).  The examples in the SRD are ones that specifically do work.

Q82: Are there any good abuses for the Racial Emulation feat from Races of Eberron, or is it a dud?

Bozwevial

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Developing a relaxed attitude to danger.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #212 on: October 08, 2010, 10:10:19 PM »
A82: Unless the ability to take on subtypes opens anything up, it's nothing a UMD check couldn't fix.

TC X0 Lt 0X

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #213 on: October 08, 2010, 10:11:40 PM »
A82
You can use it to qualify for Racial Feats and Prestige Classes. The first that comes to mind is a Shadowcraft Mage.
"Never beg, you earn, by winning,
or else you won't get anything..."

Bozwevial

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Developing a relaxed attitude to danger.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #214 on: October 08, 2010, 10:13:24 PM »
A82
You can use it to qualify for Racial Feats and Prestige Classes. The first that comes to mind is a Shadowcraft Mage.
You lose the benefits once you change back, though.

TC X0 Lt 0X

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #215 on: October 08, 2010, 10:17:40 PM »
A82
You can use it to qualify for Racial Feats and Prestige Classes. The first that comes to mind is a Shadowcraft Mage.
You lose the benefits once you change back, though.
True.
"Never beg, you earn, by winning,
or else you won't get anything..."

Benly

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #216 on: October 09, 2010, 12:16:57 AM »
A82: Unless the ability to take on subtypes opens anything up, it's nothing a UMD check couldn't fix.

It would if there were any humanoids with interesting subtypes published, but there aren't. About the best you can manage is (Aquatic) to move in water without Swim checks.

If your DM allows third-party supplements that have humanoids with incorporeal, swarm, fire, cold, or even just the alignment subtypes things suddenly get more interesting to one degree or another, but as it stands there's not much.

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #217 on: October 09, 2010, 12:32:39 AM »
A82: Unless the ability to take on subtypes opens anything up, it's nothing a UMD check couldn't fix.

It would if there were any humanoids with interesting subtypes published, but there aren't. About the best you can manage is (Aquatic) to move in water without Swim checks.

If your DM allows third-party supplements that have humanoids with incorporeal, swarm, fire, cold, or even just the alignment subtypes things suddenly get more interesting to one degree or another, but as it stands there's not much.
FoP anyone? :)
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

BeholderSlayer

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1258
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #218 on: October 09, 2010, 12:35:02 AM »
Q83: Can anybody think of a non-living construct that lacks magic immunity but is still immune to ability damage and fatigue?

Q84: Is the extra d4 damage dice from Arcane strike and the bonus damage from Arcane Boost applied to critical hits?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2010, 12:46:03 AM by BeholderSlayer »
Hi Welcome
[spoiler]
Allow me to welcome you both with my literal words and with an active display of how much you fit in by being tone deaf, dumb, and uncritical of your babbling myself.[/spoiler]

wotmaniac

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2207
  • Emperor's Enforcer
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Part 18: Lucid Dreaming Ghost Pixie Hood Edition
« Reply #219 on: October 09, 2010, 12:56:00 AM »
Q83: Can anybody think of a non-living construct that lacks magic immunity but is still immune to ability damage and fatigue?

A83
unless there are some exceptions that I cannot think of at the moment, then all constructs are immune to ability damage and fatigue.
so, to answer your question ... any construct that is not a "golem". (though there might be some non-golem constructs that are also immune to magic; but that would be the exception, not the rule)

Just from the SRD:
- Animated Object
- Demon, Retriever
- Homunculus   
- Inevitable -- have SR
- Shield Guardian

and there are many others sprinkled throughout the various MM's, etc.

Quote
Q84: Is the extra d4 damage dice from Arcane strike and the bonus damage from Arcane Boost applied to critical hits?
- arcane strike = no.  extra damage that is determined by rolling extra dice is not effected by critical hits (via Rules Compendium)
- arcane boost = yes (I think).  this is static damage, and therefore subject to multiplying from critical hits. (unless there is something of which I am unaware)
« Last Edit: October 09, 2010, 01:16:36 AM by wotmaniac »

[spoiler]
If you stop ignoring 289 pages telling what the intent is to stretch "more power" in your own god complexion of your interpretation trumps all to cover ability adjustments from aging then I will ignore a quarter page of rules that exist within a sidebar.
I think in this case the grammar is less important than whether the Str and Dex bonus provided to your created undead scales.

Greenbound Summoning RAI
Expanded Gestalt
More Savage Progressions[/spoiler]
Report any wrongs I have done here.