Author Topic: Help with High Powered Character  (Read 3582 times)

Grossmesser

• Monkey bussiness
Help with High Powered Character
« on: September 23, 2010, 10:22:38 PM »
Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to D&D and needed some help.  We are about to start a campaign and our DM said to make a really powerful character for it, and didn't say anything else about it except that he doesn't want a lot of divination spells used.  So I was wondering, which of the tier 1 classes are, overall, strongest.  This may be stupid to ask, but he says that you will need to be really strong and I don't want to go screwing up.  If something like this has already been covered then if you can point me there that would be great also.

KellKheraptis

• Organ Grinder
  • What's the matter? I thought you had me...
    • Email
Re: Help with High Powered Character
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2010, 11:09:12 PM »
Not a lot of divination as in no CoP abuse, or not a lot as in "OMFG PALLY GETS DETECT EVIL, NOOOO!!!1!1eleven!" ?  Sounds like the perfect game for one of my Rainbow Warsnakes.  Who needs preparation when you have every spell list (damn near) available spontaneously.
BG's Resident Black Hatter
The Mango List Reborn!
My Warmage Trickery (coming soon!)
My PrC Pally Trickery (coming soon!)
The D&D Archive
-Work in progress!

Solo

• Organ Grinder
  • Solo the Sorcelator, at your service
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2010, 11:09:28 PM »
Druid. Wizard. Cleric. Archivist. Take your pick, really.

"I am the Black Mage! I cast the spells that makes the peoples fall down!"

The Legend RPG, which I worked on and encourage you to read.

KellKheraptis

• Organ Grinder
  • What's the matter? I thought you had me...
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2010, 11:11:15 PM »
Druid. Wizard. Cleric. Archivist. Take your pick, really.

Of those, I'd go with Druid if divination is being raped.  Who cares what's being thrown at you with a Venomfired Fleshraker while shifted into one too.