Author Topic: Diary of a RL Gestalt Game  (Read 6965 times)

ksbsnowowl

• Grape ape
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Diary of a RL Gestalt Game
« on: June 04, 2010, 02:28:27 AM »
So I've been running a real-life gestalt game sporadically for the last several months.  I'm encountering some interesting issues as the DM, that I thought would be informative for any other DM's who are thinking of running gestalt.

The setting is a Norse/Viking world that also draws heavily from the Forgotten Realms country of Rashemen (I'm also running a game on the play by post boards, titled Mythic Sagas, if you are interested in more background).  I have four players, three of which are somewhat experienced, and one who is a total newbie, who we have to hand-hold through every die roll.  Their characters are:

Male Human Druid 2//Fighter 2
Female Half-Elf Cleric 2//Rogue 2
Female Human Paladin 2//Sorcerer 2
Male Half-Elf Druid 2//Ranger 2 (Archer - newbie)

Now, one of the interesting aspects of Gestalt is that the characters have more class abilities at their disposal.  They should have at least some of the following:  More hit points, more feats, more spells, more skill points, better saves, better attack bonuses, more damage potential (via class abilities).  Now, for this increased versatility, the PC's should be able to face off against harder monsters, and the gestalt rules suggest pitting them against creatures of a CR one higher than the party level (or two levels higher if the monster is mostly dangerous due to abilities that allow saving throws).  Mikey likes this, because as a DM I can't wait to use things like trolls.

Perhaps it is the fact that I can see at least the obvious optimization potential in the foes my PC's meet, and have a better grasp of the rules than them, but my PC's are having a hard time holding their own against what should be Gestalt CR (GCR) appropriate encounters.