Author Topic: Scales of War  (Read 1428 times)

dither

• Hong Kong
  • Breaking the ninth wall
Scales of War
« on: April 08, 2010, 02:52:24 PM »
I'm getting ready to run the first adventure in the Scales of War adventure path for 4e. Has anyone run or played in the Scales of War campaign and/or have any advice? I've been playing 4e for about 2 months with another group, after stalking it from the shadows during its announcement and flipping through the occasional book since its release.

All the players I have will be totally new to 4e, and it's been a year since they played in the 3.5 campaign I ran before, so I'm more or less prepared for these guys to totally wet behind the ears. I'm compiling a play list of music from Guild Wars and The Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion soundtracks to help put them in the mood.

If anyone's interested, I can try to keep up with summaries/observations of gameplay here. Other than that, just looking for basic 4e DM advice. I've made steps in the past to incorporate Skill Challenges into my 3.5 games, so I don't really see those causing a problem.

Rescue at Rivenroar APL 1
Adventure Progress:
X - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O - O

Characters:
Deva blaster wizard (controller)
Dragonborn bravura warlord (leader)
Elf dual-wield ranger (striker)
Kobold guardian fighter (defender)
Razorclaw shifter assassin (striker)

Rescue at Rivenroar: Encounter 1 "Goblin Terror Tactics, Part A"
Tuesday, April 14th, 2010

[spoiler]So last night we began the first adventure in the Scales of War adventure path for Fourth Edition Dungeons & Dragons. Our party currently consists of an elf dual-wield ranger, a dragonborn bravura warlord, a kobold guardian fighter, a deva blaster wizard, and a razorclaw shifter assassin. (For those of you keeping score at home, that's a leader, a defender, two strikers, and a controller.)