Author Topic: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.  (Read 62612 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


Silent Wayfarer

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #21 on: August 08, 2010, 01:11:39 PM »
Q11: Is paladin the strongest non-full-caster in Pathfinder?

Vistella

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2010, 05:12:23 PM »
Q6
can a druid use flame blade/produce flame while in wildshaped in an animal which doesnt have hands?
nothing in the spell says you have to carry it, just that it springs from your hand, so should work from talon or whatever too, right?
Q12 (as extend to my Q6)
as mentioned befor with flame blade it doesnt work without hands but what about a gorilla?
it has hands, can you wildshape into that while using flame blade?

juton

  • King Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Jack of all trades, master of nothing.
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2010, 07:00:14 PM »
Q11: Is paladin the strongest non-full-caster in Pathfinder?

A12
Basically, yes. And especially if you have access to extra smiting via feat or elsewhere. There are some interesting Fighter and Barbarian options in the advanced players guide, but non of those mature as quickly as a Paladin, or have the variety of actions available to a Paladin.

winter_soldier

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 122
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #24 on: August 09, 2010, 02:20:38 PM »
Q6
can a druid use flame blade/produce flame while in wildshaped in an animal which doesnt have hands?
nothing in the spell says you have to carry it, just that it springs from your hand, so should work from talon or whatever too, right?
Q12 (as extend to my Q6)
as mentioned befor with flame blade it doesnt work without hands but what about a gorilla?
it has hands, can you wildshape into that while using flame blade?

A12. Hmmm. Can you normally wield weapons when wildshaped? If so, then yes. If not, then no.

winter_soldier

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 122
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #25 on: August 09, 2010, 02:21:05 PM »
Q13: The Gang Up feat lets you flank when two other allies are adjacent to an opponent. Aside from party members, what counts as an ally? Summoned monsters? An Eidolon? NPCs fighting with you on your side?

Vistella

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #26 on: August 09, 2010, 02:51:57 PM »
Q6
can a druid use flame blade/produce flame while in wildshaped in an animal which doesnt have hands?
nothing in the spell says you have to carry it, just that it springs from your hand, so should work from talon or whatever too, right?
Q12 (as extend to my Q6)
as mentioned befor with flame blade it doesnt work without hands but what about a gorilla?
it has hands, can you wildshape into that while using flame blade?

A12. Hmmm. Can you normally wield weapons when wildshaped? If so, then yes. If not, then no.
well, if i would know that i wouldnt have asked :p
but i found nothing about animals wielding weapons or not allowed to wield weapons, thats why i asked it
even just reread the polymorph section and theres nothing mentioned (besides the usual equipment melts into new form, but the spell is caster after the shape)

Slaughterhouserock

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Hail to the king, baby.
    • Horror Movie Fans
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #27 on: August 09, 2010, 04:09:31 PM »
Q6
can a druid use flame blade/produce flame while in wildshaped in an animal which doesnt have hands?
nothing in the spell says you have to carry it, just that it springs from your hand, so should work from talon or whatever too, right?
Q12 (as extend to my Q6)
as mentioned befor with flame blade it doesnt work without hands but what about a gorilla?
it has hands, can you wildshape into that while using flame blade?

A12. Hmmm. Can you normally wield weapons when wildshaped? If so, then yes. If not, then no.
well, if i would know that i wouldnt have asked :p
but i found nothing about animals wielding weapons or not allowed to wield weapons, thats why i asked it
even just reread the polymorph section and theres nothing mentioned (besides the usual equipment melts into new form, but the spell is caster after the shape)

If you have hands that are capable of wielding the weapon, you can use it.  So your gorilla would be fine.
The DM giveth and the rogue taketh away.
I have a 5 in Charisma and Diplomacy is a cross-class skill.  Hopefully I don't piss off too many people.

Slaughterhouserock

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Hail to the king, baby.
    • Horror Movie Fans
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #28 on: August 09, 2010, 04:16:37 PM »
Q13: The Gang Up feat lets you flank when two other allies are adjacent to an opponent. Aside from party members, what counts as an ally? Summoned monsters? An Eidolon? NPCs fighting with you on your side?

A13:   Ally - "A person who associates or cooperates with another; supporter".  In other words, yes to all of the above.
The DM giveth and the rogue taketh away.
I have a 5 in Charisma and Diplomacy is a cross-class skill.  Hopefully I don't piss off too many people.

Vistella

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #29 on: August 10, 2010, 10:35:58 PM »
Q14
can a druid with the plant domain get the bonus from wooden fists to the natural attacks he gets via wildshape?

Q15
the powers of domains, do they look for character level or class level?
neither in the domain section, the druid section or the cleric section is any mention of class levels

or in short as example: does a cleric1/whatever5 with firedomain gain the fire resistence 10 at lvl6 (20 at 12, immunity at 20)?
« Last Edit: August 10, 2010, 11:04:45 PM by Vistella »

juton

  • King Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 809
  • Jack of all trades, master of nothing.
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #30 on: August 10, 2010, 11:58:51 PM »
A14
By the RAW, no, but a reasonable DM would probably allow it.

A15
It's not stated in the RAW, since it doesn't say 'class' levels you could assume it's character level.

vrischika111

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #31 on: August 11, 2010, 04:57:56 PM »
A15 mitigation: core rulebook says "class abilities are mostly based on levels in that class"
also domains powers says "In addition, a cleric gains the listed powers from both
of her domains, if she is of a high enough level". while it's not said "high enough cleric level" I think it's RAI to say so.
Do it. Or don't do it. But never regret !

winter_soldier

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 122
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #32 on: August 11, 2010, 07:26:37 PM »
A15 mitigation: core rulebook says "class abilities are mostly based on levels in that class"
also domains powers says "In addition, a cleric gains the listed powers from both
of her domains, if she is of a high enough level". while it's not said "high enough cleric level" I think it's RAI to say so.

+1

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #33 on: August 11, 2010, 09:08:56 PM »
The descriptions of domain granted powers use the phrase “cleric level” a lot, even repeatedly in the same sentence.  They're clearly not making a habit of just saying “level” for short.  That means in the cases where they just say “level” and not “cleric level,” it was not just because they didn't feel like typing “cleric,” but because they didn't mean cleric level. 

Kaville

  • Monkey bussiness
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #34 on: August 12, 2010, 05:03:17 AM »
Q16 Of all the bard ACFs in the APG, would Arcane Duelist be best for an Archer Bard in E6?

something random

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 115
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #35 on: August 12, 2010, 02:23:46 PM »
Q17: Is there a limit on how often a witch's Hex ability can be used?
Am I the only one who's mind was broken when they realized the implication of the existence of the aberration bloodline.

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #36 on: August 12, 2010, 04:13:36 PM »
The descriptions of domain granted powers use the phrase “cleric level” a lot, even repeatedly in the same sentence.  They're clearly not making a habit of just saying “level” for short.  That means in the cases where they just say “level” and not “cleric level,” it was not just because they didn't feel like typing “cleric,” but because they didn't mean cleric level. 
Doubt that, actually, due to all the rest of the incredibly lazy wording in the book.

Q16 Of all the bard ACFs in the APG, would Arcane Duelist be best for an Archer Bard in E6?
Yes.

Q17: Is there a limit on how often a witch's Hex ability can be used?
Only when specified against single targets (aka, "cannot be affected again for 24 hours"). So, for most of them no. You could hex all day, though some of them require large investitures of time, or specifically call out limited uses (the resurrection one, for example), or they state no single target can be effected more than once per day or per 24 hours.
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #37 on: August 12, 2010, 05:45:41 PM »
The descriptions of domain granted powers use the phrase “cleric level” a lot, even repeatedly in the same sentence.  They're clearly not making a habit of just saying “level” for short.  That means in the cases where they just say “level” and not “cleric level,” it was not just because they didn't feel like typing “cleric,” but because they didn't mean cleric level. 
Doubt that, actually, due to all the rest of the incredibly lazy wording in the book.

Given that they are inclined to be lazy with wording, it is all the more likely they would not repeatedly use the phrase “cleric level” if they held that “level,” in the context of a domain power description, means cleric level.  Their laziness, combined with the repeated use of the phrase “cleric level,” serves as a good indication that they believe they must say “cleric level” to mean cleric level. 

McPoyo

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3783
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #38 on: August 12, 2010, 06:03:39 PM »
In the back of the book, it references level to mean class level unless otherwise specified.
[Spoiler]
A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most messed up game show.

Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH!
Behind door number 2: A magic crown!
Behind door number 3: 4d6 giant bees, and THREE HUNDRED POUNDS OF HONEY!
They don't/haven't, was the point. 3.5 is as dead as people not liking nice tits.

Sometimes, their tits (3.5) get enhancements (houserules), but that doesn't mean people don't like nice tits.

Though sometimes, the surgeon (DM) botches them pretty bad...
Best metaphor I have seen in a long time.  I give you much fu.
Three Errata for the Mage-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Barbarian-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Monks doomed to die,
One for the Wizard on his dark throne
In the Land of Charop where the Shadows lie.
[/spoiler]

Vistella

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • Email
Re: [PATHFINDER] Ask a simple question, get a silly- I mean, simple answer.
« Reply #39 on: August 12, 2010, 07:45:30 PM »
Q18
Can an animal use feint in combat?
and with animal i mean a shaped druid or polymorphed wizard or sth like that