Author Topic: Legacy Champion - what are some good entries?  (Read 2875 times)

Akalsaris

• Hong Kong
    • Email
Legacy Champion - what are some good entries?
« on: November 15, 2009, 07:15:22 PM »
So I was looking at the Legacy Champion, from Weapons of Legacy (Pg. 19).  I love the flavor of weapons of legacy, and the customization of the legacy items, so the prestige class has some appeal to me.  So I figured I'd start a thread on it and see what classes people think would go well with it.  If there's enough interest I might make a handbook out of it, though I have no direct experience with the prestige class.

To help with optimizing:
Building a Weapon of Legacy, for dummies

Here's the rundown:
-Druid-like chasis: each level is 3/4 BAB, d8 HP, poor fort/ref and good Will, 4+int skills (Concentration, Decipher Script, Gather Information, Knowledge (history), Use Magic Device, plus existing class skills from all your classes)
-Requires 10th level, the Least Legacy feat, and 5 ranks in knowledge (history) - not difficult at all.
-Advances class features for 8/10 levels (loses at 1st and 7th)
-Has weapon of legacy related abilities - specifically, 2 bonus feats, 3 extra legacies, 3 swap-a-legacy opportunities, and can unlock lesser and greater legacies without paying the GP cost.

Let's assume for the sake of this exercise that the class does not advance prestige classes.  Yes, I know that Hellfire Warlock for an extra 8 levels would be awesome fun, but let's restrict ourselves to base classes for this. 

Some ideas to start it off:
-Shouldn't really use it on anything that doesn't have good class features to advance, like sorcerer or cleric - other PrCs have better options without losing CLs. 
-Most full casters probably won't bother when there are PrCs that grant full casting.
-Likewise, anything with full BAB probably doesn't want to lose BAB by taking levels in this