Author Topic: striker help -- Ranger/Rogue hybrid? other options?  (Read 5388 times)

Unbeliever

• King Kong
striker help -- Ranger/Rogue hybrid? other options?
« on: September 30, 2009, 08:50:41 PM »
Hi all, I'm new to 4E and still a bit at sea w/ character builds (the armada of powers probably has something to do w/ it).  So, I was hoping for some help w/ implementing it.  I've read through all the handbooks in order to try and grasp the builds.  Doesn't have to be uber-optimized, just playable at all levels and reasonably good at what it does.  Thanks in advance.

Goal:  a melee striker, preferably wielding 2 weapons, w/ some decent options for either debuffs or battlefield manipulation (knockdown, pushing targets around, etc.).  Mobility and out of combat skill/utility options a plus, as would be not being too fragile since I want to mix it up in melee.  Not particularly interested in sneaking around.

My initial feeling was that Ranger fit the bill nicely, from everything I've read it's a solid striker and it'd be nice since it was the red-headed stepchild in 3E.  However, it seems really lacking in the debuffing, etc. stuff that I would really like to have. Rogue was also a neat option, though I'd like to be able to mix it up in melee more directly and didn't want to focus on sneaking.  Although if there are solid, durable Rogue build options out there then maybe that'd be profitable. Assassin strikes me as very cool, but I'm skeptical of my ability to play it profitably and it also seems to stray into glass cannon territory.