Author Topic: Effective use of a spirit shaman?  (Read 3609 times)

Endless Twilight

• Ring-Tailed Lemur
Effective use of a spirit shaman?
« on: January 26, 2009, 09:45:06 PM »
I'm getting set to play a spirit shaman in a PbP campaign (ECL 5, and I'm playing a lightfoot halfling), and I thought I'd ask before I started drawing up a character sheet-what's the spirit shaman actually good at doing? Not really looking to min/max, per se, but I'd like to hear from the pro's what the class's strengths/weaknesses are, so I can at least try to play an above-average one. :) Pretty much open season on allowable books, as long as they're for 3.5E.

woodenbandman

• Man in Gorilla Suit
    • Email
Re: Effective use of a spirit shaman?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2009, 09:52:16 PM »
They are strictly worse than a druid, but if you go by what's worse than a druid, you've pretty much described the entire game. They play a lot like a Cleric, casting buffs and wading into melee, or hanging back with support spells, which are mainly summoning spells and buffs for their animal friends.

Plus, they have the added bonus that if they acquire a domain, such as through taking levels of Contemplative, they can chose to receive the domain spell for the day and cast it at their leisure, meaning that they have an incredible range of spells for using with Divine Metamagic. They can combine Bite of the Werebear with Righteous Might, they can get Persistent Wraithstrike combined with Divine Power, they can use Anyspell shenanigans... Basically, they're a lesser form of a Druid, but a bit more versatile in terms of spellcasting, depending on how you play them.

Your main stat is wisdom, because you don't cast offensive spells too often. I mean, sure there's Entangle and stuff like that, but wouldn't you rather grow angry claws and stab some bitches?

Straw_Man

• Hong Kong
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2009, 09:56:25 PM »