Author Topic: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer  (Read 253835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DetectiveJabsco

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
  • Here's To Life
    • Email
Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« on: May 17, 2008, 02:17:17 AM »
The purpose of this thread is to serve as a catch-all for minor questions or mundane rules queries that don't really warrant a new thread.If you have a more detailed question about a character build or certain rules, Starting a new thread in the forum will get a more proper response.

Posting guidelines, just to make reading easier.

When asking a question, preface it with
Q##
Where "##" is the next number according to whatever the last question was.
When answering a question, preface it With
A##
Where "##" corresponds to the question you're answering.

Edit:Keep "thank you"s to PM's to help this from getting too cluttered. Thanks
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 03:18:44 AM by DetectiveJabsco »

AlterFrom

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 561
  • Super Special Awesome
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 02:28:19 AM »
Q1: How awesome is Character Optimization?  :D
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 02:30:02 AM by AlterFrom »
Siggy
[spoiler]TIRED OF TRYING TO MANAGE FILES ACROSS SEVERAL COMPUTERS? GET DROPBOX AND SIMPLIFY THE PROCESS!


xkcd. It Rocks.

Tick, tock, Tick, tock...

FYI: I lose a couple years off my life anytime I see I have a PM.

Quote
We're ALL rules lawyers here. The BEST at what we do, too. It's like a Tom Grisham novel in which everybody at the top law firm is a dirty crook, but they all know the rules so well that TECHNICALLY speaking, they aren't breaking them...:eh

[/spoiler]

Tshern

  • Clown Prince of Crime
  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5726
  • Aistii valoa auttavasti
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2008, 02:30:10 AM »
Q2: If a creature who has spell resistance is holding an item, does the SR apply to the item as well? For example, could I freely disintegrate an Amulet of Health worn by a Pit Fiend or would I have to roll against his SR?

A1: Epic.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 03:20:19 PM by Tshern »
Ja vuosia myöhemmin
kalvas kaksikko lattialla motellin tihrustelee,
kun sama keiju katossa leijailee.
Kyselevät: "Mikä päivä nyt on?
Tiedätkö sen?"
Kuiskaten laulaa keiju:
"Tämän elämän viimeinen."

Handy Links

heffroncm

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2008, 02:31:29 AM »
Q1: How awesome is Character Optimization?  :D (The practice, not the board)

A1: The awesomeness of Character Optimization is inversely proportional to the number of non-optimizers in the game.  If the DM does not participate in optimization, then the characters will quickly stomp anything they encounter.  If one player does not participate in optimization, the game will quickly become unfun for that player as their character will quickly become useless in combat.  If only one player participates in optimization, that player will make the game unfun for everyone else (DM included) by setting a power-level bar that noone else comes near.

Optimize with care.  Improper optimization can lead quickly to poor games, unhappy people, and broken groups.

DetectiveJabsco

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
  • Here's To Life
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2008, 03:04:41 AM »
Q03When using Eldritch Glaive, Can you make a Greater Flyby attack with it?

heffroncm

  • Bi-Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2008, 03:15:42 AM »
Q03When using Eldritch Glaive, Can you make a Greater Flyby attack with it?

A03:  Assuming you mean GREAT FLYBY ATTACK from Savage Species.

Using Great Flyby Attack is a Full Round Action.

Using Eldritch Glaive is a seperate Full Round Action.

If you can find a way to get two Full Round Actions in the same round, you would be able to use Eldritch Glaive from where you are standing, and then make the Great Flyby Attack attacks with the Glaive (as it lasts until the start of your next turn).



If there is a Greater Flyby Attack that is not listed in WotC's Feat Index, could you please give me a book referance?
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 03:18:35 AM by heffroncm »

Ieniemienie

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2008, 11:18:40 AM »
Q04 Are there any additional spells printed for the Duskblade besides the ones on the PHBII? Or is there a way to expand the Duskblade spellist in an easy way?
'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!

Shigunaru

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • I am your "friend"
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2008, 11:24:14 AM »
A04: There are no additional spell for the Duskblade in any splatbook I know of. You add spell to the spell list as you would with a sorcerer: PrCing (Sandshaper from Sandstorm) or feats like "Mother Cyst" (Libris Mortis) and "Arcane Disciple" (Complete Divine).
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 11:28:18 AM by Shigunaru »
Posting guidelines. Read 'em. Use 'em. Love 'em.

EntropicShadow

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Doth thou desire power?
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2008, 11:26:38 AM »
Q04 Are there any additional spells printed for the Duskblade besides the ones on the PHBII? Or is there a way to expand the Duskblade spellist in an easy way?

A04: The only additional spells I know of for the Duskblade are Swift Ready and Fracturing Weapon from The Forge of War.  I prefer Sandshaper as a means to add spells.
'Cause I'm a bit part demon, a small-time misfit
I say you'll be "Dead by Dawn" but I don't really mean it.
I'm a threat to no one. The other deadites make fun...
You suck!
Of me, Evil Eddy,the bit part demon

Ieniemienie

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2008, 11:36:56 AM »
Q05 I was looking at the Arcane Disciple feat from CDiv; Can I use the divine spells I can cast from the domain as to fulfill a prerequisite of a Prc? For example Mystic Theurge  :smirk
'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!

AfterCrescent

  • Honorary Moderator
  • Organ Grinder
  • *
  • Posts: 4220
  • Here After
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2008, 11:44:36 AM »
A05. Although you may cast the spell, the feat does not give you the ability to cast divine spells. You are still casting the spell as an arcane spell.  Your DM may rule differently, but as written, no.
The cake is a lie.
Need to play table top? Get your game on at:
Brilliant Gameologists' PbP Forum. Do it, you know you want to.
The 3.5 Cleric Handbook
The 13th Guard - An alternate history campaign idea.
Clerics just wake up one morning and decide they need to kick ass, and it needs to be kicked NOW. ~veekie

Maximiano

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Good, good.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2008, 03:01:01 PM »
Q06

Does the charging action to bull rush the target from charging minotaur (page 81 - ToB) include a attack in the end of the charge?

Example:
Charge = Movement + Attack + Bull Rush test ( that deals extra damage if sucessful)
Good gaming for you.

Shigunaru

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • I am your "friend"
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2008, 03:05:18 PM »
A06

I don't think so. You make a charge and a bullrush attempt. If the bullrush succed, you deal extra damage. Nowhere in the description a melee attack is involved.
Posting guidelines. Read 'em. Use 'em. Love 'em.

Tshern

  • Clown Prince of Crime
  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5726
  • Aistii valoa auttavasti
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2008, 03:20:53 PM »
To quote myself:
Quote from: Tshern
Q2: If a creature who has spell resistance is holding an item, does the SR apply to the item as well? For example, could I freely disintegrate an Amulet of Health worn by a Pit Fiend or would I have to roll against his SR?
Back to the top I say!
Ja vuosia myöhemmin
kalvas kaksikko lattialla motellin tihrustelee,
kun sama keiju katossa leijailee.
Kyselevät: "Mikä päivä nyt on?
Tiedätkö sen?"
Kuiskaten laulaa keiju:
"Tämän elämän viimeinen."

Handy Links

AfterCrescent

  • Honorary Moderator
  • Organ Grinder
  • *
  • Posts: 4220
  • Here After
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2008, 03:27:14 PM »
A2. Yes. Sorry I didn't notice this before. To quote the Rules Compendium (p.130) "(object): The spell can be cast on objects, but not necessarily only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures and/or objects. Objects receive spell resistance only if they’re magical or if a creature that has spell resistance attends (holds, wears, grasps) them. The object uses the higher of its or the attending creature’s spell resistance." Bolded for emphasis :D
The cake is a lie.
Need to play table top? Get your game on at:
Brilliant Gameologists' PbP Forum. Do it, you know you want to.
The 3.5 Cleric Handbook
The 13th Guard - An alternate history campaign idea.
Clerics just wake up one morning and decide they need to kick ass, and it needs to be kicked NOW. ~veekie

Agita

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5465
  • SFT is mai waifu.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2008, 03:43:00 PM »
Q07

Does an artificer count as a spellcaster for the purpose of Craft (Alchemy)? (Since technically an Arty isn't a caster, but an "imbuer")
It's all about vision and making reality conform to your vision. By dropping a fucking house on it.

Agita's Awesome Poster Compilation
Lycanthromancer's Awesome Poster Compilation

Ieniemienie

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2008, 03:46:47 PM »
Technically the Artificer is not a spellcaster indeed, but I think any DM will allow you to take such a feat.
'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!

Agita

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 5465
  • SFT is mai waifu.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2008, 04:09:46 PM »
Technically the Artificer is not a spellcaster indeed, but I think any DM will allow you to take such a feat.
Not a feat, the skill.
It's all about vision and making reality conform to your vision. By dropping a fucking house on it.

Agita's Awesome Poster Compilation
Lycanthromancer's Awesome Poster Compilation

Bozwevial

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4497
  • Developing a relaxed attitude to danger.
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2008, 04:12:31 PM »
AO7 Going by RAW, the artificer cannot cast spells, per se, therefore he is not eligible to craft alchemical items. However, it seems easy enough to rule that the artificer's familiarity with crafting and magic would let him craft the items. Talk to your DM about it.

QO8 A spinoff of Tshern's earlier question, does an item that grants spell resistance still receive the benefit of that resistance for itself if it is unattended?

Ieniemienie

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
    • Email
Re: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2008, 04:21:41 PM »
QO8 A spinoff of Tshern's earlier question, does an item that grants spell resistance still receive the benefit of that resistance for itself if it is unattended?
Items only give bonuses to the person wearing them. otherwise a headband of Intellect would be an intelligent item..... so no the item does not have SR
'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!