http://bg-archive.minmaxforum.com
February 25, 2018, 03:50:10 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: These boards are now READ ONLY. We've started over! So don't try posting here. Go here http://minmaxforum.com
 
   Home   Help Search Members Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ask a Simple Question, Get a simple answer  (Read 258232 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
DetectiveJabsco
Bi-Curious George
****
Posts: 463


Here's To Life


« on: May 17, 2008, 02:17:17 AM »

The purpose of this thread is to serve as a catch-all for minor questions or mundane rules queries that don't really warrant a new thread.If you have a more detailed question about a character build or certain rules, Starting a new thread in the forum will get a more proper response.

Posting guidelines, just to make reading easier.

When asking a question, preface it with
Q##
Where "##" is the next number according to whatever the last question was.
When answering a question, preface it With
A##
Where "##" corresponds to the question you're answering.

Edit:Keep "thank you"s to PM's to help this from getting too cluttered. Thanks
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 03:18:44 AM by DetectiveJabsco » Logged

AlterFrom
Donkey Kong
****
Posts: 561


Super Special Awesome


« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 02:28:19 AM »

Q1: How awesome is Character Optimization?  Big Grin
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 02:30:02 AM by AlterFrom » Logged

Siggy
TIRED OF TRYING TO MANAGE FILES ACROSS SEVERAL COMPUTERS? GET DROPBOX AND SIMPLIFY THE PROCESS!


xkcd. It Rocks.

Tick, tock, Tick, tock...

FYI: I lose a couple years off my life anytime I see I have a PM.

Quote
We're ALL rules lawyers here. The BEST at what we do, too. It's like a Tom Grisham novel in which everybody at the top law firm is a dirty crook, but they all know the rules so well that TECHNICALLY speaking, they aren't breaking them...

Tshern
Clown Prince of Crime
Organ Grinder
*****
Posts: 5726


Aistii valoa auttavasti


« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2008, 02:30:10 AM »

Q2: If a creature who has spell resistance is holding an item, does the SR apply to the item as well? For example, could I freely disintegrate an Amulet of Health worn by a Pit Fiend or would I have to roll against his SR?

A1: Epic.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 03:20:19 PM by Tshern » Logged

Ja vuosia myöhemmin
kalvas kaksikko lattialla motellin tihrustelee,
kun sama keiju katossa leijailee.
Kyselevät: "Mikä päivä nyt on?
Tiedätkö sen?"
Kuiskaten laulaa keiju:
"Tämän elämän viimeinen."

Handy Links
heffroncm
Bi-Curious George
****
Posts: 374



« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2008, 02:31:29 AM »

Q1: How awesome is Character Optimization?  Big Grin (The practice, not the board)

A1: The awesomeness of Character Optimization is inversely proportional to the number of non-optimizers in the game.  If the DM does not participate in optimization, then the characters will quickly stomp anything they encounter.  If one player does not participate in optimization, the game will quickly become unfun for that player as their character will quickly become useless in combat.  If only one player participates in optimization, that player will make the game unfun for everyone else (DM included) by setting a power-level bar that noone else comes near.

Optimize with care.  Improper optimization can lead quickly to poor games, unhappy people, and broken groups.
Logged
DetectiveJabsco
Bi-Curious George
****
Posts: 463


Here's To Life


« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2008, 03:04:41 AM »

Q03When using Eldritch Glaive, Can you make a Greater Flyby attack with it?
Logged

heffroncm
Bi-Curious George
****
Posts: 374



« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2008, 03:15:42 AM »

Q03When using Eldritch Glaive, Can you make a Greater Flyby attack with it?

A03:  Assuming you mean GREAT FLYBY ATTACK from Savage Species.

Using Great Flyby Attack is a Full Round Action.

Using Eldritch Glaive is a seperate Full Round Action.

If you can find a way to get two Full Round Actions in the same round, you would be able to use Eldritch Glaive from where you are standing, and then make the Great Flyby Attack attacks with the Glaive (as it lasts until the start of your next turn).



If there is a Greater Flyby Attack that is not listed in WotC's Feat Index, could you please give me a book referance?
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 03:18:35 AM by heffroncm » Logged
Ieniemienie
Donkey Kong
****
Posts: 690



« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2008, 11:18:40 AM »

Q04 Are there any additional spells printed for the Duskblade besides the ones on the PHBII? Or is there a way to expand the Duskblade spellist in an easy way?
Logged

'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!
Shigunaru
That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
****
Posts: 269


I am your "friend"


« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2008, 11:24:14 AM »

A04: There are no additional spell for the Duskblade in any splatbook I know of. You add spell to the spell list as you would with a sorcerer: PrCing (Sandshaper from Sandstorm) or feats like "Mother Cyst" (Libris Mortis) and "Arcane Disciple" (Complete Divine).
« Last Edit: May 17, 2008, 11:28:18 AM by Shigunaru » Logged

Posting guidelines. Read 'em. Use 'em. Love 'em.
EntropicShadow
Ring-Tailed Lemur
**
Posts: 85


Doth thou desire power?


« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2008, 11:26:38 AM »

Q04 Are there any additional spells printed for the Duskblade besides the ones on the PHBII? Or is there a way to expand the Duskblade spellist in an easy way?

A04: The only additional spells I know of for the Duskblade are Swift Ready and Fracturing Weapon from The Forge of War.  I prefer Sandshaper as a means to add spells.
Logged

'Cause I'm a bit part demon, a small-time misfit
I say you'll be "Dead by Dawn" but I don't really mean it.
I'm a threat to no one. The other deadites make fun...
You suck!
Of me, Evil Eddy,the bit part demon
Ieniemienie
Donkey Kong
****
Posts: 690



« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2008, 11:36:56 AM »

Q05 I was looking at the Arcane Disciple feat from CDiv; Can I use the divine spells I can cast from the domain as to fulfill a prerequisite of a Prc? For example Mystic Theurge  Smirk
Logged

'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!
AfterCrescent
Honorary Moderator
Organ Grinder
*
Posts: 4220


Here After


« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2008, 11:44:36 AM »

A05. Although you may cast the spell, the feat does not give you the ability to cast divine spells. You are still casting the spell as an arcane spell.  Your DM may rule differently, but as written, no.
Logged

The cake is a lie.
Need to play table top? Get your game on at:
Brilliant Gameologists' PbP Forum. Do it, you know you want to.
The 3.5 Cleric Handbook
The 13th Guard - An alternate history campaign idea.
Clerics just wake up one morning and decide they need to kick ass, and it needs to be kicked NOW. ~veekie
Maximiano
Ring-Tailed Lemur
**
Posts: 46


Good, good.


« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2008, 03:01:01 PM »

Q06

Does the charging action to bull rush the target from charging minotaur (page 81 - ToB) include a attack in the end of the charge?

Example:
Charge = Movement + Attack + Bull Rush test ( that deals extra damage if sucessful)
Logged

Good gaming for you.
Shigunaru
That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
****
Posts: 269


I am your "friend"


« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2008, 03:05:18 PM »

A06

I don't think so. You make a charge and a bullrush attempt. If the bullrush succed, you deal extra damage. Nowhere in the description a melee attack is involved.
Logged

Posting guidelines. Read 'em. Use 'em. Love 'em.
Tshern
Clown Prince of Crime
Organ Grinder
*****
Posts: 5726


Aistii valoa auttavasti


« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2008, 03:20:53 PM »

To quote myself:
Quote from: Tshern
Q2: If a creature who has spell resistance is holding an item, does the SR apply to the item as well? For example, could I freely disintegrate an Amulet of Health worn by a Pit Fiend or would I have to roll against his SR?
Back to the top I say!
Logged

Ja vuosia myöhemmin
kalvas kaksikko lattialla motellin tihrustelee,
kun sama keiju katossa leijailee.
Kyselevät: "Mikä päivä nyt on?
Tiedätkö sen?"
Kuiskaten laulaa keiju:
"Tämän elämän viimeinen."

Handy Links
AfterCrescent
Honorary Moderator
Organ Grinder
*
Posts: 4220


Here After


« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2008, 03:27:14 PM »

A2. Yes. Sorry I didn't notice this before. To quote the Rules Compendium (p.130) "(object): The spell can be cast on objects, but not necessarily only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures and/or objects. Objects receive spell resistance only if they’re magical or if a creature that has spell resistance attends (holds, wears, grasps) them. The object uses the higher of its or the attending creature’s spell resistance." Bolded for emphasis Big Grin
Logged

The cake is a lie.
Need to play table top? Get your game on at:
Brilliant Gameologists' PbP Forum. Do it, you know you want to.
The 3.5 Cleric Handbook
The 13th Guard - An alternate history campaign idea.
Clerics just wake up one morning and decide they need to kick ass, and it needs to be kicked NOW. ~veekie
Agita
Organ Grinder
*****
Posts: 5465


SFT is mai waifu.


« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2008, 03:43:00 PM »

Q07

Does an artificer count as a spellcaster for the purpose of Craft (Alchemy)? (Since technically an Arty isn't a caster, but an "imbuer")
Logged

It's all about vision and making reality conform to your vision. By dropping a fucking house on it.

Agita's Awesome Poster Compilation
Lycanthromancer's Awesome Poster Compilation
Ieniemienie
Donkey Kong
****
Posts: 690



« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2008, 03:46:47 PM »

Technically the Artificer is not a spellcaster indeed, but I think any DM will allow you to take such a feat.
Logged

'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!
Agita
Organ Grinder
*****
Posts: 5465


SFT is mai waifu.


« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2008, 04:09:46 PM »

Technically the Artificer is not a spellcaster indeed, but I think any DM will allow you to take such a feat.
Not a feat, the skill.
Logged

It's all about vision and making reality conform to your vision. By dropping a fucking house on it.

Agita's Awesome Poster Compilation
Lycanthromancer's Awesome Poster Compilation
Bozwevial
Organ Grinder
*****
Posts: 4497


Developing a relaxed attitude to danger.


« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2008, 04:12:31 PM »

AO7 Going by RAW, the artificer cannot cast spells, per se, therefore he is not eligible to craft alchemical items. However, it seems easy enough to rule that the artificer's familiarity with crafting and magic would let him craft the items. Talk to your DM about it.

QO8 A spinoff of Tshern's earlier question, does an item that grants spell resistance still receive the benefit of that resistance for itself if it is unattended?
Logged

Ieniemienie
Donkey Kong
****
Posts: 690



« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2008, 04:21:41 PM »

QO8 A spinoff of Tshern's earlier question, does an item that grants spell resistance still receive the benefit of that resistance for itself if it is unattended?
Items only give bonuses to the person wearing them. otherwise a headband of Intellect would be an intelligent item..... so no the item does not have SR
Logged

'DnD is not a game; it is a membership in a tribe that I joined long ago.'

Stupidity should be painful!
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!