Author Topic: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM  (Read 73084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CantripN

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1199
  • Constantly talking isn't necessarily communicating
    • Cantrip, Gestalt Gish
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #600 on: October 28, 2011, 08:58:44 PM »
There's also a Paladin 4 spells that does that, from BoED. It grants +4 CHA, and you explode when you die. Duration is long enough to maintain constantly, if you want to.
Which of the six listed spells does that?

Righteous Aura: Paladin 4; Spell Compendium 177
Read, every day, something no one else is reading. Think, every day, something no one else is thinking. Do, every day, something no one else would be silly enough to do. It is bad for the mind to be always part of unanimity.

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #601 on: October 28, 2011, 09:03:20 PM »
Q197  Is there a way to get 3rd-level arcane spells and have +7 BAB by level 8?  Without being gestalt or using versatile/heighten or Improved Krau?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 09:04:57 PM by sirpercival »
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #602 on: October 28, 2011, 09:12:32 PM »
Q197  Is there a way to get 3rd-level arcane spells and have +7 BAB by level 8?  Without being gestalt or using versatile/heighten or Improved Krau?
battle sorcerer multiclassed with full BAB a bit? Hmm... not sure, does that work?

Edit: Guess not... Hmm...

Edit2: (outsider) Battle sorc 4/spellsword 2/eldritch knight 2 has BAB +7 and 3rd level spells (barely).
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 09:19:39 PM by PhaedrusXY »
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #603 on: October 28, 2011, 09:18:08 PM »
Battle sorc gets 3rd-level spells at 6, with a +4 BAB.  That would give you +6 at 8th level.

Mystic ranger does it... but they're divine spells. :banghead
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #604 on: October 28, 2011, 09:18:44 PM »
Q197  Is there a way to get 3rd-level arcane spells and have +7 BAB by level 8?  Without being gestalt or using versatile/heighten or Improved Krau?
battle sorcerer multiclassed with full BAB a bit? Hmm... not sure, does that work?

Yes, [full base attack bonus] 1 / battle sorcerer 4 / spellsword 1 / abjurant champion 2 works.  [Full base attack bonus] 3 / wizard 2 / spellsword 1 / abjurant champion 2 can manage it too.  Oops, wizard 2 doesn't get 2nd level spells without trickery. 
« Last Edit: October 28, 2011, 09:21:04 PM by Maat_Mons »

Bard

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #605 on: October 28, 2011, 09:45:08 PM »
If you abuse kobolds a bit it becomes quite easier (loredrake dragonwrought kobolds and all, not sure about the spelling).
I seem to remind that there was something similar that could be done with Dragonlance draconians and the rules to buy back LA.
Then Battle Sorcerer and all added on top
[Spoiler]
His old DM was on crack. He could take levels in freaking Dread Necromancer if he wanted to and no rule in the universe would keep him from doing so.
Rule 0?
Which, I guess, would be 'no rule,' since none = 0.
What's funny is he always brings up Rule 0. I actually had to ask him what that was, and without blinking an eye he gave me the most detailed explanation I'd ever heard for a rule. It was like he was in a trance when he spoke. Looking it up, it just said "The unspoken DM gets final say/veto anything he wants rule."
You're such a kind man, for taking in abused unfortunates and rehabilitating them.
[/spoiler]

Kethrian

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #606 on: October 28, 2011, 09:59:36 PM »
Q 198 Is the Holly Berry Bomb version of the Fire Seeds spell really as powerful as I think it is?  It states that you can create up to 8 berries, and each do 1d8+CL fire damage (no cap).  So, you could cast it, throw them 5' (getting you just out of the area), and detonate them all in the same spot for 8d8+(8xCL) damage, Reflex for half?  At level 12, that would be an average of 132 damage!  And, detonating them would be a free action, because talking is, right?

Sobolev

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #607 on: October 28, 2011, 10:03:07 PM »
Q199: Am I making up an item?  I thought I remembered something about an item, if someone heals someone near you you can steal the heal.  Can't think of anything else about the item.
Sha'ir Handbook
Binder Handbook


Quote from: Negative Zero on November 04, 2009, 02:16:14 AM
In my humble opinion, CO is haberdashery. Some say we're mad, but we can all agree we're hatters. Yes, we have potential to make very sophisticated hats, very fancy hats, be they dark or light. But the truth is that the color of the hat does not come from the group of us - our community doesn't directly produce hats. We simply give average head circumferences, list current fashion trends, and point out some shiny, obscure baubles to add to the latest hat line.

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #608 on: October 28, 2011, 10:19:27 PM »
Q199: Am I making up an item?  I thought I remembered something about an item, if someone heals someone near you you can steal the heal.  Can't think of anything else about the item.

Shirt of the leech (Magic Item Compendium). 

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #609 on: October 28, 2011, 10:37:16 PM »
Q200  And I quote:
Quote
A beholder mage’s spells function at a caster level equal to twice its beholder mage level.
Does this mean that to increase your BM CL you have to take levels of BM, or do progression-advancing PrC's also advance BM caster level?
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

Hazren

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 114
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #610 on: October 28, 2011, 11:26:00 PM »
Q 201
I'm looking for a list of low level (1-3) arcane area effect spells, the larger the area the better. Just so you know where this is going I'll be adding snowcasting, flash frost and fell drain.
"My solution way too often is to press the red button and see the world burn, which brings us back to the fiery pits of Hell..."
Tshern

weenog

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #611 on: October 28, 2011, 11:36:07 PM »
Q200  And I quote:
Quote
A beholder mage’s spells function at a caster level equal to twice its beholder mage level.
Does this mean that to increase your BM CL you have to take levels of BM, or do progression-advancing PrC's also advance BM caster level?

Depends on the wording of the PrC's abilities.  You'd want one that increases your spells, spells per day, and caster level as if you had taken a level in the previous class, in which case your effective Beholder Mage level is equal to your actual Beholder Mage level plus the spell advancing levels in the PrC.
"We managed to make an NPC puke an undead monster."
"That sounds like a victory to me."

weenog

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #612 on: October 29, 2011, 01:54:54 AM »
Q 202: Do the custom magic item creation rules cover something like a ring which works 1/day, activates automatically when its wearer dies, and casts revivify and heal on the wearer at that time?
"We managed to make an NPC puke an undead monster."
"That sounds like a victory to me."

Kethrian

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #613 on: October 29, 2011, 02:15:27 AM »
Q 202: Do the custom magic item creation rules cover something like a ring which works 1/day, activates automatically when its wearer dies, and casts revivify and heal on the wearer at that time?

A 202 Yes.  Such an item would be use-activated, CL 11 (higher if you want, but it costs more).

Revivify: CL 11 x 5 (spell lv) x 2000 / 5 (1 use/day) = 22,000gp x 1.5 (stacking effects) = 33,000gp
Heal: CL 11 x 6 (spell lv) x 2000 / 5 (1 use/day) = 26,400gp
Total: 59,400gp

All-in-all, a great magic item to have.  Well worth the price.

Bard

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #614 on: October 29, 2011, 02:49:00 AM »
Q200  And I quote:
Quote
A beholder mage’s spells function at a caster level equal to twice its beholder mage level.
Does this mean that to increase your BM CL you have to take levels of BM, or do progression-advancing PrC's also advance BM caster level?

Depends on the wording of the PrC's abilities.  You'd want one that increases your spells, spells per day, and caster level as if you had taken a level in the previous class, in which case your effective Beholder Mage level is equal to your actual Beholder Mage level plus the spell advancing levels in the PrC.
But each PRC level would increase the CL only of +1, while a Beholder Mage level would give it a +2 (you can use the Legacy Champion or similiar PrCs if you want to keep getting the 2 for 1 deal)
[Spoiler]
His old DM was on crack. He could take levels in freaking Dread Necromancer if he wanted to and no rule in the universe would keep him from doing so.
Rule 0?
Which, I guess, would be 'no rule,' since none = 0.
What's funny is he always brings up Rule 0. I actually had to ask him what that was, and without blinking an eye he gave me the most detailed explanation I'd ever heard for a rule. It was like he was in a trance when he spoke. Looking it up, it just said "The unspoken DM gets final say/veto anything he wants rule."
You're such a kind man, for taking in abused unfortunates and rehabilitating them.
[/spoiler]

Mooncrow

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #615 on: October 29, 2011, 03:10:24 AM »
Q200  And I quote:
Quote
A beholder mage’s spells function at a caster level equal to twice its beholder mage level.
Does this mean that to increase your BM CL you have to take levels of BM, or do progression-advancing PrC's also advance BM caster level?

Depends on the wording of the PrC's abilities.  You'd want one that increases your spells, spells per day, and caster level as if you had taken a level in the previous class, in which case your effective Beholder Mage level is equal to your actual Beholder Mage level plus the spell advancing levels in the PrC.
But each PRC level would increase the CL only of +1, while a Beholder Mage level would give it a +2 (you can use the Legacy Champion or similiar PrCs if you want to keep getting the 2 for 1 deal)

As he said, it depends; there are several PrCs that specifically say they increase caster level as if you had taken another level in the original class.  If it doesn't have that wording, then yes, it only would increase by one.

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #616 on: October 29, 2011, 07:07:29 AM »
Q 198 Is the Holly Berry Bomb version of the Fire Seeds spell really as powerful as I think it is?  It states that you can create up to 8 berries, and each do 1d8+CL fire damage (no cap).  So, you could cast it, throw them 5' (getting you just out of the area), and detonate them all in the same spot for 8d8+(8xCL) damage, Reflex for half?  At level 12, that would be an average of 132 damage!  And, detonating them would be a free action, because talking is, right?
Even better, Empower Spell applies to that uncapped caster level.  [1d8+15*produces a random variable between 16 and 23; look at the description of the empower spell feat in the PHB, NOT the SRD].

8*(1d8+15)*(1.5) = empower spell actually paying off.

*using a 15th level caster for this example.
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

Kethrian

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #617 on: October 29, 2011, 07:24:23 AM »
Q 198 Is the Holly Berry Bomb version of the Fire Seeds spell really as powerful as I think it is?  It states that you can create up to 8 berries, and each do 1d8+CL fire damage (no cap).  So, you could cast it, throw them 5' (getting you just out of the area), and detonate them all in the same spot for 8d8+(8xCL) damage, Reflex for half?  At level 12, that would be an average of 132 damage!  And, detonating them would be a free action, because talking is, right?
Even better, Empower Spell applies to that uncapped caster level.  [1d8+15*produces a random variable between 16 and 23; look at the description of the empower spell feat in the PHB, NOT the SRD].

8*(1d8+15)*(1.5) = empower spell actually paying off.

*using a 15th level caster for this example.

Excellent!  Now, just to make sure my enemies have no fire resistance first...  8 x resistance means the spell is awesome against anything without, but sucks nuts against even the most basic resist.

StreamOfTheSky

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #618 on: October 29, 2011, 08:03:44 AM »
Q 203

Does the +4 dodge AC from Mobility feat apply to provoked AoOs for things such as a) standing up from prone?  b) Moving into a creature's space to initiate a bull rush, over run, or grapple?  c) The generated AoOs of the other combat maneuvers (disarm, sunder, trip, any others I'm forgetting), in which you are not explicitly "moving" in the game sense?

Issue came up in a game 2 weeks ago when my character got tripped, stood up, and the +4 would've turned the hit into a miss.  The DM ruled it does not apply, but IMO it should for a and b, but probably not c.

EDIT: I doubt it would apply, but also d) the AoO provoked for performing a coup de grace.

jojolagger

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 951
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #619 on: October 29, 2011, 08:19:12 AM »
Q 203

Does the +4 dodge AC from Mobility feat apply to provoked AoOs for things such as a) standing up from prone?  b) Moving into a creature's space to initiate a bull rush, over run, or grapple?  c) The generated AoOs of the other combat maneuvers (disarm, sunder, trip, any others I'm forgetting), in which you are not explicitly "moving" in the game sense?

Issue came up in a game 2 weeks ago when my character got tripped, stood up, and the +4 would've turned the hit into a miss.  The DM ruled it does not apply, but IMO it should for a and b, but probably not c.

EDIT: I doubt it would apply, but also d) the AoO provoked for performing a coup de grace.
Any AoO from moving has the +4 applied to it. A) Getting up from prone yes B) Bullrush and overrun yes, grapple no because the AoO happens before you move. C) No. D) Hell no.
Countdown to Zombie Apocalypse 97
When you see this, copy it into your sig and -1
:lovefirefox
Quotes [spoiler]
In other words, he thinks there's a "correct" way to play D&D.  *sigh*
There is: Kill shit and loot the corpse!
When you use a tool the way it was designed for -- its intended function -- then it will work very well for you.

But it's not the tool's fault if you use it for something else and you fail utterly, such as trying to eat cereal with a butterknife, pounding nails with a screwdriver, blogging to voice your political opinions, and brushing your teeth with a hammer.
[/spoiler]