Author Topic: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM  (Read 70396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #500 on: October 25, 2011, 03:25:28 PM »
A124 Why can't you acquire a Naga?

A154 Wand of True Strike.

A164a That would be similar to worshipping an ideal, right?


Q166 Does a kalashtar's mindlink ability qualify him for Thrallherd (assuming he meets the other prereqs)?
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #501 on: October 25, 2011, 03:28:33 PM »
A166: Yes, it does.  Rather helpful, really.
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #502 on: October 25, 2011, 04:58:19 PM »
Sweet!

Q167 Does a binder/ur-priest/anima mage binding Zceryll add his EBL to his Ur-Priest CL?
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #503 on: October 25, 2011, 05:06:39 PM »
Q167 Does a binder/ur-priest/anima mage binding Zceryll add his EBL to his Ur-Priest CL?
no

Catty Nebulart

  • Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #504 on: October 25, 2011, 06:34:14 PM »
Q168 What are the rules for using spell-like abilities in a grapple?
E: "Did they... did they just endorse the combination of the JSDF and US Army by showing them as two lesbian lolicons moving in together and holding hands and talking about how 'intimate' they were?"
B: "Have you forgotten so soon? They're phasing out Don't Ask, Don't Tell."

brujon

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #505 on: October 25, 2011, 06:41:12 PM »
Q168 What are the rules for using spell-like abilities in a grapple?

Spell-like abilities are identical to the spell they emulate, that mean somatic and verbal components are still in effect. So you look to see if the spell has somatic component and if they do, can't cast in a grapple unless you have a way of applying still magic to the SLA.

Littha

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2155
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #506 on: October 25, 2011, 06:44:29 PM »
Q168 What are the rules for using spell-like abilities in a grapple?

Spell-like abilities are identical to the spell they emulate, that mean somatic and verbal components are still in effect. So you look to see if the spell has somatic component and if they do, can't cast in a grapple unless you have a way of applying still magic to the SLA.

wrong:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability’s use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #507 on: October 25, 2011, 06:51:42 PM »
Q168 What are the rules for using spell-like abilities in a grapple?

Spell-like abilities are identical to the spell they emulate, that mean somatic and verbal components are still in effect. So you look to see if the spell has somatic component and if they do, can't cast in a grapple unless you have a way of applying still magic to the SLA.

wrong:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability’s use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.
I think it would still require a concentration check, though, as even spells without somatic components require a concentration check to use in a grapple, and spell-like abilities function as spells except where otherwise noted.
Quote
Cast a Spell

You can attempt to cast a spell while grappling or even while pinned (see below), provided its casting time is no more than 1 standard action, it has no somatic component, and you have in hand any material components or focuses you might need. Any spell that requires precise and careful action is impossible to cast while grappling or being pinned. If the spell is one that you can cast while grappling, you must make a Concentration check (DC 20 + spell level) or lose the spell. You don’t have to make a successful grapple check to cast the spell.
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

Littha

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2155
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #508 on: October 25, 2011, 06:55:44 PM »
Q168 What are the rules for using spell-like abilities in a grapple?

Spell-like abilities are identical to the spell they emulate, that mean somatic and verbal components are still in effect. So you look to see if the spell has somatic component and if they do, can't cast in a grapple unless you have a way of applying still magic to the SLA.

wrong:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus or have an XP cost. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability’s use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.
I think it would still require a concentration check, though, as even spells without somatic components require a concentration check to use in a grapple, and spell-like abilities function as spells except where otherwise noted.
Quote
Cast a Spell

You can attempt to cast a spell while grappling or even while pinned (see below), provided its casting time is no more than 1 standard action, it has no somatic component, and you have in hand any material components or focuses you might need. Any spell that requires precise and careful action is impossible to cast while grappling or being pinned. If the spell is one that you can cast while grappling, you must make a Concentration check (DC 20 + spell level) or lose the spell. You don’t have to make a successful grapple check to cast the spell.

yep:
Quote
A spell-like ability can be disrupted just as a spell can be.

there is also a rules of the game article on grappling that addresses this issue:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050308a

Relevant text:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, material, focus, or XP  components, so you can use one while grappling. To do so, you must succeed on a Concentration check; the DC for the check is exactly the same as it would be if you were casting a spell. See Rules of the Game for more information on spell-like abilities
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 06:58:55 PM by Littha »

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #509 on: October 25, 2011, 07:26:09 PM »
A164a That would be similar to worshipping an ideal, right?

It would be. Duh, I'm an idiot...

I guess Archivists just use whatever they want for a holy symbol?
-------------

So in my campaign world there are no magic shops to just go buy or upgrade whatever you want, so I asked my players to tell me two specific items they want for their characters, so I can place them in the campaign.  One of my barbarians has a +1 greatsword (his father's sword - it was stolen, he recovered it, and that is how he met the party), and one of his "wants" is to have it upgraded to a +1 Berserker Greatsword (I'll let him choose which version of berserker, too).

My campaign is about to start following the framework of Red Hand of Doom, so I figure I'll place a +1 Berserker greatsword in place of the +1 Frost Bastard Sword that is hidden in the vault of Vraath Keep, but I don't want the party to keep the one they've got, so I'm going to replace the minotaur bodyguard "champion" in Vraath Keep with a Tanarukk Fighter 2/Barbarian 2 that has Power Attack, Leap Attack, Improved Sunder, Imp Bull Rush, Combat Brute, and Shock Trooper (CR 6/GCR 5 - my party is gestalt, and will be 7th level by then).  He will charge into battle after a few rounds have gone by, Leap Attacking to sunder the Party Barb's +1 Greatsword with a +1 Great Axe (+27 vs the PC's +13-ish opposed attack roll; 1d12+32 damage [+1 greatsword has 32 hp's]), and following that up with a Sundering Cleave.  At that point, his AC will be 6, and will probably be barely alive come round 2.

So, I will take away the character's father's sword (he doesn't have any attachment to his father, who disowned him), but will almost immediately replace it with the "upgraded version." (assuming they search the keep).

Q 169: Is this too dirty of a thing for a DM to do?

Q 170: When using the Heedless Charge ability of Shock Trooper, when does the penalty to your AC apply?  Only after you've attacked, or would it apply to any movement-related AoO's you incur while charging?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 07:28:11 PM by ksbsnowowl »
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

weenog

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #510 on: October 25, 2011, 07:40:27 PM »
there is also a rules of the game article on grappling that addresses this issue:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050308a

Relevant text:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, material, focus, or XP  components, so you can use one while grappling. To do so, you must succeed on a Concentration check; the DC for the check is exactly the same as it would be if you were casting a spell. See Rules of the Game for more information on spell-like abilities

Depends on the spell-like ability.  Warlock invocations do come with somatic components.  I'm not sure about dragonfire adepts but at a guess I'd assume yes due to the warlock similarities.
"We managed to make an NPC puke an undead monster."
"That sounds like a victory to me."

Littha

  • Man in Gorilla Suit
  • *****
  • Posts: 2155
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #511 on: October 25, 2011, 08:15:55 PM »
there is also a rules of the game article on grappling that addresses this issue:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050308a

Relevant text:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, material, focus, or XP  components, so you can use one while grappling. To do so, you must succeed on a Concentration check; the DC for the check is exactly the same as it would be if you were casting a spell. See Rules of the Game for more information on spell-like abilities

Depends on the spell-like ability.  Warlock invocations do come with somatic components.  I'm not sure about dragonfire adepts but at a guess I'd assume yes due to the warlock similarities.

Warlock invocations have components because they specifically say they do as do dragonfire adepts. It's a case of specific overriding general though and nothing to do with the base rules.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 08:17:34 PM by Littha »

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #512 on: October 25, 2011, 08:20:21 PM »
A124 Why can't you acquire a Naga?

A154 Wand of True Strike.
A naga could work.

True Strike only lasts for one round, and it takes a round to cast it (not literally), so he'd only fire once per two rounds. He'd also have to make his UMD check.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #513 on: October 25, 2011, 08:36:02 PM »
A154 Wand of True Strike.
True Strike only lasts for one round, and it takes a round to cast it (not literally), so he'd only fire once per two rounds. He'd also have to make his UMD check.
What level is he?

5th level Warlock with Cha 14 = 8 Ranks + 2 Cha + take 10 on UMD = 20 = auto-activate wands.

Also, look into the spell "Targeting ray" from the spell compendium.  I don't remember specifics, but it might help him if either the party wizard, or he (from a wand), were to cast it.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 08:41:08 PM by ksbsnowowl »
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

Esgath

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #514 on: October 25, 2011, 08:39:43 PM »
You can't take 10 on an UMD check.

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #515 on: October 25, 2011, 08:41:27 PM »
You can't take 10 on an UMD check.
You can if you have 4 levels in Warlock.
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

Esgath

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #516 on: October 25, 2011, 08:50:51 PM »
Nevermind then, carry on. :>

weenog

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #517 on: October 25, 2011, 08:54:28 PM »
there is also a rules of the game article on grappling that addresses this issue:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20050308a

Relevant text:
Quote
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, material, focus, or XP  components, so you can use one while grappling. To do so, you must succeed on a Concentration check; the DC for the check is exactly the same as it would be if you were casting a spell. See Rules of the Game for more information on spell-like abilities

Depends on the spell-like ability.  Warlock invocations do come with somatic components.  I'm not sure about dragonfire adepts but at a guess I'd assume yes due to the warlock similarities.

Warlock invocations have components because they specifically say they do as do dragonfire adepts. It's a case of specific overriding general though and nothing to do with the base rules.

Well yes, but as I recall a DM recently was having trouble with a warlock just deciding to escape grapples effortlessly because he neglected to account for that specific restriction, so it seemed pertinent to put it out there in case we've got another one.
"We managed to make an NPC puke an undead monster."
"That sounds like a victory to me."

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #518 on: October 25, 2011, 08:59:03 PM »
A154 Wand of True Strike.
True Strike only lasts for one round, and it takes a round to cast it (not literally), so he'd only fire once per two rounds. He'd also have to make his UMD check.
What level is he?

5th level Warlock with Cha 14 = 8 Ranks + 2 Cha + take 10 on UMD = 20 = auto-activate wands.

Also, look into the spell "Targeting ray" from the spell compendium.  I don't remember specifics, but it might help him if either the party wizard, or he (from a wand), were to cast it.
He just hit 6 HD. He's got 20 CHA and 14 DEX. We have a wizard, but he's only 2nd level. Doing the fighter/wizard/PrC thing, and he's not taking any ranged spells. Just buffs.

But again, I bring up that the wand can only be used once every other round, which means his blast can only be used once every other round. Was hoping for something a little more frequent.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

weenog

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #519 on: October 25, 2011, 09:06:23 PM »
A154 Wand of True Strike.
True Strike only lasts for one round, and it takes a round to cast it (not literally), so he'd only fire once per two rounds. He'd also have to make his UMD check.
What level is he?

5th level Warlock with Cha 14 = 8 Ranks + 2 Cha + take 10 on UMD = 20 = auto-activate wands.

Also, look into the spell "Targeting ray" from the spell compendium.  I don't remember specifics, but it might help him if either the party wizard, or he (from a wand), were to cast it.
He just hit 6 HD. He's got 20 CHA and 14 DEX. We have a wizard, but he's only 2nd level. Doing the fighter/wizard/PrC thing, and he's not taking any ranged spells. Just buffs.

But again, I bring up that the wand can only be used once every other round, which means his blast can only be used once every other round. Was hoping for something a little more frequent.

Wand of reduce person and wand of cat's grace?  At minimum possible caster levels, RP lasts 1 minute and CG lasts 3 minutes.  If you know a fight's coming you can prebuff with them easily enough, and receive a net gain on ranged touch attack rolls of +4 (+1 size, +3 Dex).
"We managed to make an NPC puke an undead monster."
"That sounds like a victory to me."