Author Topic: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM  (Read 71665 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TenaciousJ

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #40 on: October 04, 2011, 08:51:22 PM »
Q20 I remember a mention of a Dragon Magazine feat that added the spells of a character's Dragonmark to its class list.  If it exists, what is it called and which issue is it in?

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2011, 09:17:11 PM »
Q18  What level does attacks of oppertunity really shine?

Q19  What level(s) does ranks in diplomacy and intimidate really shine?

Thanks
A18: All levels, if your build centers around it. They can be especially good at the low levels though, where you can one-shot things that draw them.

A19: I guess levels 2+, once you can get the synergy bonuses to diplomacy from having 5+ ranks in several other skills which I forget... It is possible to hit DC 20 even at level 2 with a build optimized around diplomacy, and at that point you can talk your way out of most fights (DC 20 to go from Hostile to Unfriendly).

Q15: Are there any cleric spells of 3rd level or lower that can cure ability drain?
Nope.  Makes that CR 5 wraith super painful.
Ah crap. I was hoping there was something obscure, like how Heart of Water can give you Freedom of Movement earlier than the actual FoM spell is available...

Hmm... do those Orbs in the MiC cure ability drain, or only damage? They're pretty cheap...
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 09:45:37 PM by PhaedrusXY »
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

Mooncrow

  • That monkey with the orange ass cheeks
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #42 on: October 04, 2011, 10:15:26 PM »

Hmm... do those Orbs in the MiC cure ability drain, or only damage? They're pretty cheap...

Only damage =/  The only option I can add is there is a 3rd level cleric spell that can give you immunity to ability drain - Sheltered Vitality from LM.  But that's about all I can think of.

Rymosrac

  • Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 321
  • You were expecting?
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2011, 11:41:24 PM »
Yes, the dragon is CR 5.  No, it doesn't get a CR update (it does get LA+8, though).  Yes, it's internally consistent, since the same book has a LA+3 template that gives both regeneration and immunity to nonlethal damage.

Which template?
curst

Not finding a listed LA for curst, much to my disappointment.

Where did you see it?
Shh. My common sense is tingling. . .

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #44 on: October 04, 2011, 11:42:33 PM »
Yes, the dragon is CR 5.  No, it doesn't get a CR update (it does get LA+8, though).  Yes, it's internally consistent, since the same book has a LA+3 template that gives both regeneration and immunity to nonlethal damage.

Which template?
curst

Not finding a listed LA for curst, much to my disappointment.

Where did you see it?
I saw one in Lost Empires of Faerun.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

Kuroimaken

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 6733
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #45 on: October 04, 2011, 11:57:23 PM »
Q21: Does anyone think that Dungeoncrashing Fighter (assuming crash into the ground is accepted) + Hood + Knockback + Pounce might be a little excessive? I mean, the guy is easily going into the triple digit damage between the PA, Battle Jump and multiple attacks, getting multiple jumps isn't too hard, and it's probably doable WAY before the Frenzied Berserker finishes his class progression.
Gendou Ikari is basically Gregory House in Kaminashades. This is FACT.

For proof, look here:

http://www.layoutjelly.com/image_27/gendo_ikari/

[SPOILER]
Which Final Fantasy Character Are You?
Final Fantasy 7
My Unitarian Jihad Name is: Brother Katana of Enlightenment.
Get yours.[/SPOILER]

I HAVE BROKEN THE 69 INTERNETS BARRIER!


Ithamar

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 959
  • PM me if you're interested in some Arena action!
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #46 on: October 04, 2011, 11:58:29 PM »
Yep it is +3 LA, page 166 of LEoF.
Are you worthy of Ascension?
Always accepting gladiators!  Now with a new and improved rule set!

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #47 on: October 05, 2011, 12:13:59 AM »
Q22: If wanted to qualify for a prestige class with, for example, a prerequisite of Caster Level 5th, could I do so if I had a CL 5 in only one school of magic, like if I was a dream dwarf cleric 2 with the oracle domain (so I would be CL 2 for everything but divination, but CL 5 for divination)?
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

JaronK

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4039
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #48 on: October 05, 2011, 12:22:29 AM »
Q22: If wanted to qualify for a prestige class with, for example, a prerequisite of Caster Level 5th, could I do so if I had a CL 5 in only one school of magic, like if I was a dream dwarf cleric 2 with the oracle domain (so I would be CL 2 for everything but divination, but CL 5 for divination)?

A22:  Yes, you'd have a caster level of 5.  It would even work if you only had a single spell like ability with a CL of 5.

JaronK

The_Mad_Linguist

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8780
  • Simulated Thing
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #49 on: October 05, 2011, 03:19:45 AM »
Yes, the dragon is CR 5.  No, it doesn't get a CR update (it does get LA+8, though).  Yes, it's internally consistent, since the same book has a LA+3 template that gives both regeneration and immunity to nonlethal damage.

Which template?
curst

Not finding a listed LA for curst, much to my disappointment.

Where did you see it?
See the web update.  Same place with the hairy spider LA.
Linguist, Mad, Unique, none of these things am I
My custom class: The Priest of the Unseen Host
Planetouched Handbook
Want to improve your character?  Then die.

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #50 on: October 05, 2011, 04:06:26 AM »
Q 23 I'm reading through Heroes of Horror, and checking out Cas the demi-god, but I don't understand how they get his touch AC of 21. You've got the flat 10, then -1 size, +7 Dex, and that's it. Where's the other +5 from something like deflection? He doesn't have a +5 ring, and his artifact weapon doesn't say that it gives it to him. Does he have his own +5 from something? Or should it be assumed that it automatically from his Combat Expertise even though it doesn't mention that?
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

stranglebat

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #51 on: October 05, 2011, 04:43:15 AM »
Q24 Can a war forged with alterself turn into constructs or just living constructs?

Vicerious

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Foolish Mortal
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #52 on: October 05, 2011, 04:45:42 AM »
Q24 Can a war forged with alterself turn into constructs or just living constructs?
Constructs.  Alter self doesn't care about subtypes - otherwise humans could only turn into humans, etc.
"A witty saying proves nothing." --Voltaire

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #53 on: October 05, 2011, 05:04:19 AM »
Q 23 I'm reading through Heroes of Horror, and checking out Cas the demi-god, but I don't understand how they get his touch AC of 21. You've got the flat 10, then -1 size, +7 Dex, and that's it. Where's the other +5 from something like deflection? He doesn't have a +5 ring, and his artifact weapon doesn't say that it gives it to him. Does he have his own +5 from something? Or should it be assumed that it automatically from his Combat Expertise even though it doesn't mention that?
Dieties (even rank 0) get their Cha bonus as a Deflection bonus to AC.
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #54 on: October 05, 2011, 05:05:30 AM »
Q 23 I'm reading through Heroes of Horror, and checking out Cas the demi-god, but I don't understand how they get his touch AC of 21. You've got the flat 10, then -1 size, +7 Dex, and that's it. Where's the other +5 from something like deflection? He doesn't have a +5 ring, and his artifact weapon doesn't say that it gives it to him. Does he have his own +5 from something? Or should it be assumed that it automatically from his Combat Expertise even though it doesn't mention that?
Dieties (even rank 0) get their Cha bonus as a Deflection bonus to AC.
His CHA bonus is +8.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

snakeman830

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3494
  • BG's resident furry min/maxxer
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #55 on: October 05, 2011, 03:41:06 PM »
Q 23 I'm reading through Heroes of Horror, and checking out Cas the demi-god, but I don't understand how they get his touch AC of 21. You've got the flat 10, then -1 size, +7 Dex, and that's it. Where's the other +5 from something like deflection? He doesn't have a +5 ring, and his artifact weapon doesn't say that it gives it to him. Does he have his own +5 from something? Or should it be assumed that it automatically from his Combat Expertise even though it doesn't mention that?
Dieties (even rank 0) get their Cha bonus as a Deflection bonus to AC.
His CHA bonus is +8.
So WotC screwed up on another statblock.  They also gain their Divine Rank as a "divine" bonus to AC.  They may have added that and forgotten the Deflection.
I am constantly amazed by how many DM's ban Tomb of Battle.  The book doesn't even exist!

Quotes:[spoiler]
By yes, she means no.
That explains so much about my life.
hiicantcomeupwithacharacterthatisntaghostwhyisthatamijustretardedorsomething
Why would you even do this? It hurts my eyes and looks like you ate your keyboard before suffering an attack of explosive diarrhea.
[/spoiler]

If using Genesis to hide your phylactry, set it at -300 degrees farenheit.  See how do-gooders fare with a liquid atmosphere.

nijineko

  • King Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 887
  • two strange quarks short of a graviton...
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #56 on: October 05, 2011, 05:03:15 PM »
q25what are the various methods, dubious or not, of achieving dual 9s (arcane/divine) at or before 15-16th level?

(actually, i'd be interested in any dual combo, including psionics... thanks.)
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 03:52:48 AM by nijineko »
arukibito ga michi wo erabu no ka, michi ga arukibito wo erabu no deshou ka?
Never game alone again!
KadoKado! Game for gifts!
The Ultimate Dice Rolling Engine

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #57 on: October 05, 2011, 06:21:43 PM »
Q 23 I'm reading through Heroes of Horror, and checking out Cas the demi-god, but I don't understand how they get his touch AC of 21. You've got the flat 10, then -1 size, +7 Dex, and that's it. Where's the other +5 from something like deflection? He doesn't have a +5 ring, and his artifact weapon doesn't say that it gives it to him. Does he have his own +5 from something? Or should it be assumed that it automatically from his Combat Expertise even though it doesn't mention that?
Dieties (even rank 0) get their Cha bonus as a Deflection bonus to AC.
His CHA bonus is +8.
So WotC screwed up on another statblock.  They also gain their Divine Rank as a "divine" bonus to AC.  They may have added that and forgotten the Deflection.
He doesn't have DR/epic either. It's cold iron and piercing.
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

KellKheraptis

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2668
  • What's the matter? I thought you had me...
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #58 on: October 05, 2011, 06:28:11 PM »
Q 26: The entry for the erudite states that an erudite who gains more levels in a psionic class than his erudite level loses his ability to add powers to his repertoire from other sources, and specifically states it is separate from the two powers they gain at each level.  Am I reading this correctly?  Meaning as long as I don't exceed 6 levels of another class before snagging Control Body and Schism (assuming 6 levels of Erudite), an Erudite (not even an StP one) can save as many as 3 feats over the original Chrono-Legionaire?
BG's Resident Black Hatter
The Mango List Reborn!
My Warmage Trickery (coming soon!)
My PrC Pally Trickery (coming soon!)
The D&D Archive
-Work in progress!

SeekingKnight

  • Curious George
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #59 on: October 05, 2011, 06:29:45 PM »
Q27

From the Complete Psionic book what material is considered the most helpful in it?  As in base classes, PrCs, powers and such.  Thanks.