Author Topic: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM  (Read 69210 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #380 on: October 21, 2011, 06:34:53 PM »
Remember specific entries can override the general ability, as long as it says so
I'm not debating that.  I'm just making sure I'm correctly understanding the full power of what it is capable of doing on a pounce.
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #381 on: October 21, 2011, 06:53:22 PM »
Quote
Improved Grab (Ex): To use this ability, a rage drake must hit with its bite attack. It can then attempt to start a grapple as a free action without provoking attacks of opportunity. If it wins the grapple check, it establishes a hold and can use both its rake and worry attacks against the held foe.

Pounce (Ex): If a rage drake charges, it can make a full attack, including its two rake attacks and one worry attack if it grabs its foe.

Rake (Ex): Attack bonus +16 melee, damage 1d8+13, including adjustment for using Power Attack feat. Usable in the round after it starts a grapple.

Worry (Ex): Whenever a rage drake grabs a foe at least one size category smaller than itself in its mouth, it instinctively shakes the foe, stunning and disorienting its victim. Anyone grabbed by a rage drake must succeed on a DC 25 Fortitude saving throw or be stunned for 1 round. A rage drake can only use this ability in the first round after it grabs a foe. The save DC is Strength-based.

Charge -> Bite -> (if grapple successful) Rake -> Worry

If it doesn't charge then you simply Bite -> (if grapple successful) -> Worry

Read below, ksb is right.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2011, 08:07:17 PM by bearsarebrown »

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #382 on: October 21, 2011, 07:04:24 PM »
Quote
Improved Grab (Ex): To use this ability, a rage drake must hit with its bite attack. It can then attempt to start a grapple as a free action without provoking attacks of opportunity. If it wins the grapple check, it establishes a hold and can use both its rake and worry attacks against the held foe.

Pounce (Ex): If a rage drake charges, it can make a full attack, including its two rake attacks and one worry attack if it grabs its foe.

Rake (Ex): Attack bonus +16 melee, damage 1d8+13, including adjustment for using Power Attack feat. Usable in the round after it starts a grapple.

Worry (Ex): Whenever a rage drake grabs a foe at least one size category smaller than itself in its mouth, it instinctively shakes the foe, stunning and disorienting its victim. Anyone grabbed by a rage drake must succeed on a DC 25 Fortitude saving throw or be stunned for 1 round. A rage drake can only use this ability in the first round after it grabs a foe. The save DC is Strength-based.

Charge -> Bite -> (if grapple successful) Rake -> Worry

If it doesn't charge then you simply Bite -> (if grapple successful) -> Worry
The rules for Pounce show that you parsed that sentence incorrectly.
Quote
Pounce

When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability.
  You get the rake attacks irrespective of the grapple check.
It should be read as:
Quote
Pounce (Ex): If a rage drake charges, it can make a full attack, including its two rake attacks and one worry attack if it grabs its foe.
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #383 on: October 21, 2011, 07:53:37 PM »
Q 128::
Quote from: Spell Compendium
CORROSIVE GRASP
Conjuration (Creation) [Acid]
Level: Sorcerer/wizard 1
...
Duration: Instantaneous
...
Spell Resistance: Yes
Quote
Acid Arrow
Conjuration (Creation) [Acid]
Level:    Sor/Wiz 2
...
Duration:    1 round + 1 round per three levels
...
Spell Resistance:    No
Quote from: SRD
Conjuration, Creation

A creation spell manipulates matter to create an object or creature in the place the spellcaster designates (subject to the limits noted above). If the spell has a duration other than instantaneous, magic holds the creation together, and when the spell ends, the conjured creature or object vanishes without a trace. If the spell has an instantaneous duration, the created object or creature is merely assembled through magic. It lasts indefinitely and does not depend on magic for its existence.
Quote from: SRD, on Spell Resistance
Conjuration

These spells are usually not subject to spell resistance unless the spell conjures some form of energy. Spells that summon creatures or produce effects that function like creatures are not subject to spell resistance.
So the non-instantaneous creation spell, which is held together by magic, does not allow SR, but the instantaneous creation spell which lasts indefinitely and doesn't depend on magic for its existence, does allow Spell Resistance...

Right, any errata on Corrosive Grasp?
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

PhaedrusXY

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 8022
  • Advanced Spambot
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #384 on: October 21, 2011, 07:57:51 PM »
Q 128::
Quote from: Spell Compendium
CORROSIVE GRASP
Conjuration (Creation) [Acid]
Level: Sorcerer/wizard 1
...
Duration: Instantaneous
...
Spell Resistance: Yes
Quote
Acid Arrow
Conjuration (Creation) [Acid]
Level:    Sor/Wiz 2
...
Duration:    1 round + 1 round per three levels
...
Spell Resistance:    No
Quote from: SRD
Conjuration, Creation

A creation spell manipulates matter to create an object or creature in the place the spellcaster designates (subject to the limits noted above). If the spell has a duration other than instantaneous, magic holds the creation together, and when the spell ends, the conjured creature or object vanishes without a trace. If the spell has an instantaneous duration, the created object or creature is merely assembled through magic. It lasts indefinitely and does not depend on magic for its existence.
Quote from: SRD, on Spell Resistance
Conjuration

These spells are usually not subject to spell resistance unless the spell conjures some form of energy. Spells that summon creatures or produce effects that function like creatures are not subject to spell resistance.
So the non-instantaneous creation spell, which is held together by magic, does not allow SR, but the instantaneous creation spell which lasts indefinitely and doesn't depend on magic for its existence, does allow Spell Resistance...

Right, any errata on Corrosive Grasp?
Given that specific trumps general, I think both spells should be used as written. SR: No on Acid Arrow, and SR: Yes on Corrosive Grasp. Stupid? Yes. RAW? Also yes. :P
[spoiler]
A couple of water benders, a dike, a flaming arrow, and a few barrels of blasting jelly?

Sounds like the makings of a gay porn film.
...thanks
[/spoiler]

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #385 on: October 21, 2011, 08:20:48 PM »
Well, a guy could always hope.  Any other spells like Chill Touch and Corrosive Grasp that allow multiple melee touches, but aren't stopped by SR?
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #386 on: October 22, 2011, 02:02:33 AM »
q129 One Handed reach weapon, it exists, right?

AriasDerros

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 100
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #387 on: October 22, 2011, 02:13:00 AM »
q129 One Handed reach weapon, it exists, right?

A 129) Kusari-Gama. DMG page 145. Reach and adjacent.

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #388 on: October 22, 2011, 02:13:13 AM »
Q130  By RAW, what happens if you are a Soulcaster with Arcane Investment 1, have the Midnight Metamagic feat, and have Incarnum Apotheosis cast on you?  For the duration of Incarnum Apotheosis, (a) are all your spells +1 DC because theoretically you could have invested essentia into any of them when you prepared them, so they are essentia receptacles?  (b) Is Midnight Metamagic constantly full of essentia, granting you constant free metamagic on any spell you cast?
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

bearsarebrown

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #389 on: October 22, 2011, 03:11:40 AM »
q129 One Handed reach weapon, it exists, right?

A 129) Kusari-Gama. DMG page 145. Reach and adjacent.
Anything more like a spear?

Refluff doesn't count.

weenog

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #390 on: October 22, 2011, 03:16:45 AM »
q129 One Handed reach weapon, it exists, right?

A 129) Kusari-Gama. DMG page 145. Reach and adjacent.
Anything more like a spear?

Refluff doesn't count.

Longspear sized for something one size smaller than you?
"We managed to make an NPC puke an undead monster."
"That sounds like a victory to me."

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #391 on: October 22, 2011, 04:13:43 AM »
q129 One Handed reach weapon, it exists, right?

A 129) Kusari-Gama. DMG page 145. Reach and adjacent.
Anything more like a spear?

Refluff doesn't count.
In 3.0 the Lance was a medium (ie- one handed) melee weapon all the time.  That was stupid, and many DM's houseruled it to what 3.5 is.

The Long Reach feat (UE) can allow certain races to have 5 ft of extra reach with any type of spear, but only on their turn (ie - no AoO provoking).
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

Damien_Wilacoth

  • Ring-Tailed Lemur
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #392 on: October 22, 2011, 05:50:23 AM »
Q131 How do Phaerimm Spellcasting and the feat Magic in the Blood interact?

kevin_video

  • Organ Grinder
  • *****
  • Posts: 4833
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #393 on: October 22, 2011, 08:52:26 AM »
Q 132 What spells and metamagic feats can a cleric take in order to use the Fiery Burst reserve feat?
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.

When God gives you lemons... it's time to find a new God.

Like D&D Freakouts? Check out this 4th Ed one.

Kethrian

  • Domesticated Capuchin Monkey
  • **
  • Posts: 111
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #394 on: October 22, 2011, 09:46:16 AM »
Q 132 What spells and metamagic feats can a cleric take in order to use the Fiery Burst reserve feat?

A 132 Produce Flame (Fire Domain 2), Darkfire (3), Flame Strike (5), Fire Storm (8/Fire Domain 7), Wall of Fire (Fire Domain 4), Fire Seeds (Fire Domain 6), Elemental Swarm (Fire Domain 9) - covers every spell level from 2 to 9.

Alternatively, just take the Energy Substitution (Fire) feat, and modify a damaging spell for each level so that it deals fire damage.  For when you don't want the Fire domain.

Second alternative, take the Arcane Disciple variant, and pick an arcane spell with the fire descriptor for any level you can't find a cleric spell with it.  It might be hard to get a 9th level spell pre-epic this way, unless there's a cleric spell of that level I don't know of with a set fire descriptor...

Third alternative, Heighten Spell feat, and simply apply it to a cleric spell with the fire descriptor, raising it to the highest spell level you can cast.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2011, 09:49:42 AM by Kethrian »

ksbsnowowl

  • Grape ape
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Wishing I was a raging Norseman
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #395 on: October 22, 2011, 09:52:31 AM »
Q 132 What spells and metamagic feats can a cleric take in order to use the Fiery Burst reserve feat?
Heighten Spell is probably the only feat that will help you get additional spell levels of use from Fiery Burst, as the energy substitution feats don't change the spell descriptor. It appears they changed this since 3.0...

Just looking through Core:
5th level - Flame Strike
8th level - Fire Storm

Take the Fire Domain and you've got:
2nd level - Produce Flame
4th level - Wall of Fire
6th level - Fire Seeds
7th level - Fire Storm
9th level - Elemental Swarm

Glancing through the spell compendium:
3rd - Darkfire
5th - Blistering Radiance
« Last Edit: October 22, 2011, 09:55:37 AM by ksbsnowowl »
The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist.

KSB Snow Owl's Archer Build thread

Maat_Mons

  • Hong Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 1041
  • What is a smile but a grimace of happiness?
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #396 on: October 22, 2011, 09:54:16 AM »
Here are some others. 
2: lava missile (Serpent Kingdoms)
3: furnace within (Races of Eberron)
5: dispel cold (Frostburn), earth reaver (Spell Compendium), lava splash (Serpent Kingdoms), parboil (Sandstorm), wall of magma (Sandstorm)
9: erupt (Serpent Kingdoms)

Lava missile combined with heighten could cover all your needs. 

zook1shoe

  • King Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 784
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #397 on: October 22, 2011, 03:48:42 PM »
Q75How does the spell "Steeldance" work with a caster like Spirit Shaman, that has two primary stats?

Bump

sirpercival

  • Donkey Kong
  • ****
  • Posts: 593
    • Email
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #398 on: October 22, 2011, 04:04:30 PM »
Q75How does the spell "Steeldance" work with a caster like Spirit Shaman, that has two primary stats?

Bump

I would think it would be the one that sets DCs...
Burn all the microfiche!  Firebomb all the 8-tracks!

I'm not just a druid -- I'm a singing, dancing, Broadway druid.

[spoiler]
Quote from: PhaedrusXY
"You... saved me? So I was dismantled? I... thank you, then. I will not incinerate you."

There's only one character concept worth having, and that's the one you've thrown darts at.
[/spoiler]

rot42

  • Barbary Macaque at the Rock of Gibraltar
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: Simple Q&A 29: The CR 5 Gargantuan Dragon of DOOM
« Reply #399 on: October 22, 2011, 06:00:56 PM »
Q75How does the spell "Steeldance" work with a caster like Spirit Shaman, that has two primary stats?

Bump

I was really hoping someone else would answer this, as I cannot find any RAW clarification. Stats govern spellcasting in three ways: spell DC, bonus spells, and minimum value needed to cast. Steeldance gives you something that looks like BAB + Strength modifier, but uses caster level and "relevant ability modifier" instead. That to my mind looks the most like a save DC—how "strong" your spells are—so I would use Charisma for a Spirit Shaman, Intelligence for an Archivist, &c.