Author Topic: Formatting hints list  (Read 2725 times)

Chemus

• Donkey Kong
Formatting hints list
« on: July 23, 2008, 04:43:56 AM »
Now, I'm not an expert on formatting things to look pretty, but there are a few instances of things that work differently on these boards relative to those other boards. I'll post things as I see them, and invite any others who want to give pointers/advice to post as well, please.

The use of the "code" tag for lists and simple tables can be replaced with the "preformatted text" tags. This does a very nice job of preserving tabs and spaces in a fixed width font, without any automatic scrollbars for longer lists/tables. The button above applies it to the selected text.

Also, the button above gives the horizontal rule:

I realize that I'm not the first on the boards to use it, in fact I just noticed it, but it could come in handy to a lot of posters, and it's even easier than a line of dashes or underscores.

Hope it helps.

While I'm at it, here's a link to dman11235's thread on class formatting. Lotsa good formats there.
*waves hand* This is not the sig you're looking for...
The freely downloadable and searchable 3.5 SRD I prefer (Web)
Camlen, Enniwey

PhoenixInferno

• Hong Kong
Re: Formatting hints list
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2008, 06:02:58 AM »
I was modifiying a table the other day and I noticed that there is what appears to be an order of operations to some of the tags.

Code: [Select]
[b][center]Hello world![/center][/b]

[center][b]Hello world![/b][/center]
[spoiler]
Hello world!
[/b][/spoiler][spoiler]
Hello world!
[/spoiler]

Why is this and what IS the order?

Chemus

• Donkey Kong
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2008, 07:23:41 AM »
Nesting seems to require that center tags go on the outside, as far as I can tell. My best guess is that the justification tags have to be on the outside. No idea why.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 07:26:35 AM by Chemus »
Camlen, Enniwey

BobismyRhino

• Hong Kong
  • *baby Bob kiss* MUAH!
    • Email