Author Topic: Challenging Dragonwrought Kobolds = True Dragons  (Read 171403 times)

BeholderSlayer

• Hong Kong
Challenging Dragonwrought Kobolds = True Dragons
« on: December 10, 2010, 08:22:37 PM »
Yep, it's that time of the month again. I've read all the arguments, I've seen all the logic. I hate to bring it up yet again, but I've just been thinking. First of all, I'm not a major proponent for either side. In fact, being able to treat kobolds as True Dragons in order to grab Loredrake has been one of my favorite character flavors from both a mechanics AND roleplaying perspective. Something about a kobold trying to convince his non-kobold companions that he is, in fact, an actual TRUE dragon, while his companions laugh and roll their eyes, just makes me happy inside. However, to the point:

1. The generally accepted definition of a true dragon is:
Quote from: Draconomicon, p.4 sidebar
.....true dragons are those creatures that grow more powerful as they grow older...other creatures of the dragon type that do not advance through age categories are referred to as lesser dragons
Many people place more emphasis on the second part, but that's irrelevant to my thinking because that's the part I'm challenging.
2. The universally accepted true dragons advance through age categories, which gives them more HD.
3. The term "advance" has a very specific meaning in D&D language when talking about creatures. The advancement line in the monster manual points out the method by which creatures get tougher. Some gain HD, like animals, some gain class levels, like most humanoids, and true dragons advance by aging, which also grows their HD.
4. Kobolds advance by character class, according to the rules.
5. Metallic/Chromatic/etc. dragons advance by aging.